Brazil and Colombia clinch first FINA Diving title in San Juan


Brazil and Colombia clinch first title in San Juan (PUR)
Lausanne (SUI), May 21, 2013 – Brazil’s Cesar Castro and Colombians Cristian Aragon and Miguel Reyes Abadia were the only non-Chinese winners at the fifth leg of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2013 held in San Juan (PUR) from May 16-19. Castro finished first in the men’s 3m springboard while the Colombian pair took out the men’s 3m synchro, putting an end to China’s unbeaten streak in men’s events in this year’s Grand Prix season. 
Once again, China’s rising talents occupied the majority of the podium with six gold and three silver medals. Up-and-coming divers from Austria, Canada, Netherlands and the United States also produced fine performances, many making their podium debut in San Juan.  
Austria’s Constantin Blaha claimed bronze in the men’s 3m springboard, behind Castro and Zhiyi Sun from China. After picking up silver with teammate Maxim Bouchard in the men’s 10m synchro, Philippe Gagne from Canada completed the podium in the men’s 10m platform. American divers showed talent in the synchro events with a silver medal finish for Gayson Campbell and Christopher Law (3m) and a bronze for David Dinsmore and Law (10m).  
Among women, China’s Qu Lin and Jie Lian had two wins each, in the 3m springboard (with Zhang Jun) and 10m platform (with Xiaohui Huang) individual and synchro, respectively. Emma Friesen from Canada took second in the 3m springboard while Dutch Inge Jansen was the owner of two medals – bronze in the 3m springboard individual and silver in the 3m synchro with Celine van Duijn. American Eszter Pryor was double bronze medallist – in 10m platform and 3m synchro with Madison Witt.  
3m springboard: 1. Cesar Castro (BRA) 467.45; 2. Zhiyi Sun (CHN) 452.65; 3. Constantin Blaha (AUT) 439.30
10m platform: 1. Huo Liang (CHN) 571.85; 2. Jian Yang (CHN) 515.95; 3. Philippe Gagne (CAN) 431.20
3m springboard synchro: 1. Cristian Aragon / Miguel Reyes Abadia (COL) 359.31; 2. Gayson Campbell / Christopher Law (USA) 344.22; 3. Cassius Duran / Cesar Castro (BRA) 342.09
10m platform synchro: 1. Huo Liang / Jian Yang (CHN) 444.24; 2. Philippe Gagne / Maxim Bouchard (CAN) 379.32; 3. David Dinsmore / Christopher Law (USA) 340.38
3m springboard: 1. Qu Lin (CHN) 326.30; 2. Emma Friesen (CAN) 322.05; 3. Inge Jansen (NED) 301.60
10m platform: 1. Jie Lian (CHN) 370.45; 2. Xiaohui Huang (CHN) 342.60; 3. Eszter Pryor (USA) 292.30
3m springboard synchro: 1. Zhang Jun / Qu Lin (CHN) 292.80; 2. Inge Jansen / Celine van Duijn (NED) 280.50; 3. Madison Witt / Eszter Pryor (USA) 271.80
10m platform synchro: 1. Jie Lian / Xiaohui Huang (CHN) 337.40; 2. Natali Cruz / Nicoli Cruz (BRA) 268.32; no other team
February 15-17 Madrid (ESP)
February 22-24 Rostock (GER)
May 2-5 Gatineau (CAN)
May 9-12 Fort Lauderdale (USA)
May 16-19 San Juan (PUR)
May 29-31 Kazan (RUS)

June 28-30 Bolzano (ITA)