Background-image
2011 Update #4

In this Issue:

Champs Week
Common Situations

Questions

Officials Shirts Update

Champs Week

Champs week starts this Saturday, July 16, with Division Champs (also known as B-Champs).  Any and all officials are welcome to help officiate - so if you are attending or have some time, please do offer to help out.  Each host club will appreciate the help - feel free to contact your volunteer coordinator or club parent representative for more information..  Next week, Prelims for the League Championships begin on Monday with Finals a week from Saturday.  USA Swimming Certified Officials are used at these events and a separate email has gone out to them regarding their participation.  If you are one of those officials and did not receive that email, please let me know.

Common Situations

Here are a couple of common situations that you might be faced with - so I want you to be prepared.
Situation 1: During the 50-backstroke, a swimmer in lane 3 approaches the turn.  When he moves past vertical toward the breast to make a flip turn, he finds himself in contact with the wall.  Without doing a flip turn the swimmer leaves the wall past vertical towards the back.  What action should the judge take?  None, as this is not a DQ - a single or double arm pull is permitted (after turning to the breast) but is not required.
Situation 2: During the 50-breaststroke, a swimmer's head breaks the surface during each cycle but they did not breathe during the cycle.  Should this be a DQ?  No, as there is no "breath" requirement - only a cycle requirement (arms then legs).
Situation 3: During the 50-fly, a swimmer moves too close to the right lane line.  During the recovery portion of an arm stroke, the swimmer's right arm hits the lane line causing the right arm to trail the left arm and into the water (alternating action).  But the swimmer proceeds to pull both arms back simultaneously.  The judge signals a DQ.  Should this be upheld?  Yes,  the butterfly arm stroke rules require that the arms be brought over the water simultaneously and pulled back simultaneously.  Regardless of the reason why the swimmer was unable to correctly do the stroke, it is still the swimmer's responsibility to perform the stroke correctly - and thus the DQ should be upheld.

Questions

Q1:Swimmer heads into the wall on his back with arm outstretched. Well before touching/reaching the wall, he rolls sideways onto stomach, does no arm pulling, twists himself around and stretches his feet back towards wall and kind of launches into an on-the-back position with a push off which appears to have been off the bottom of the pool because of the angle. I couldn't be sure, so knew I couldn't DQ based on a floor push off, but assuming the push off was from the wall, would this have been a legal turn?

A1:Without seeing it, it sounds like the turn was just really ugly.  If the push off was from the wall, and there was no arm recovery during the movement into the wall/turn (differentiated from simply pulling which is allowed), then I would not call it.  I might laugh about it with the coach and encourage them to work with their swimmer during practice to get it down right!


Q2: In a combined 14&Under and 18&Under free relay, two teams lined up behind the same lane (the other lane being empty), no one noticed and the starter started the race.  The wrong team realized the mistake and quickly moved to their correct lane, where the 1st swimmer jumped in the water, the team swam and finished the race even though the timers initially marked their sheets as "No Show".  Is this a DQ and if so, what should the official put down as the DQ reason?  And if this is a DQ, should the official stop the 2nd swimmer from continuing the race?
A2: The official should not prevent a swimmer from completing a race.  If a DQ is in question, then DQ can be sorted out after the race.  The requirement is that the swimmer/relay start and finish in the same lane.  Based on your description, if you determined that they switched lanes during the race, then yes, it would be a DQ as "Other/Other" and noting they did not finish in the lane they started in.  The most likely DQ in this case could be a "Delay of Meet" DQ as they were not ready to swim in their assigned lane.  It's really important in situations like these for coaches AND officials to be observant and make sure that everyone is where they are supposed to be BEFORE the race starts.

Officials Shirts Update

Officials shirts for all new officials (and those who indicated they needed one since they missed last year) have been delivered to club pools.  Please check with your pool office to pick it up.

As always, let me know if you have any questions or concerns.  If you know of others that would like this information or if you are no longer interested in receiving these, let me know and I'll update the distribution list.


Regards,

Scott Allen
Officials Chair
Midlakes Swim League