Aruba's Swimming & Synchro Teams

2019 Open Aruba Open Water Championships

Jun 23, 2019
June, 20 2019


 2019 Aruba Open Water Open & National Championships 


The Aruban Swimming Federation AZB extends a cordial invitation to you to participate in the 2019 Aruba Open Water Open & National Championships.

Meet to be held on Sunday, June 23, 2019 at the Spaans Lagoen, Pos Chiquito, Aruba.


1 KM: 8 – 12 years Female & Male

13 -17 years Female & Male

18 – 29 years Female & Male

30 years and older Female & Male


12 – 17 years Female & Male

18 – 29 years Female & Male

30years and older Female & Male


14 – 17 years Female & Male

18 – 29 years Female & Male

30 years and older Female & Male

The age for all competitors will be considered as at December 31, 2019


2019 ARUBA OPEN: The winners in each of the categories will be awarded a trophy, while 2nd and 3rd place finishers in each category will be awarded a medal.

2019 ARUBA NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS: There will be one overall winner ( male or female ) in each of the distances (1,3 & 5 Km) and only Aruban citizens and/or residents are eligible to the title of Aruba National Champion.

RULES: The competition will be conducted in accordance with FINA Rules 2017–2020.

Meet Director will be Hendrik ”Junior” Gabriela

ENTRIES: Entry is possible by sending an email with your name, date of birth, gender, club and swim distance to at: and

Entry will close on June 20, 2019 at 10.00 pm.

No new entries will be accepted on race-day.

Local Aruban Swimming Federation (AZB) members can enter their swimmers via Hy-Tek or spreadsheet.

Same deadline applies.

The entry fee for all participants is AWG 25.00.


Payment, submission of signed waiver and numbering will start on race day at 6:30 am.

• All Competitors shall be subject to a compulsory medical examination at the event venue before the start of the event. Details of the Medical Examination will be provided at the Technical Meeting.

• All Competitors must sign the “Waiver and release of liability” form, a document exonerating the organizers and the AZB from all liability. Swimmers under the age of 18 must have this form signed by a parent or legal guardian.

• Athletes under 18 will participate only if their designated representatives (parents/custodians/coaches) are present at the open water event.

• The start and the finish for the 1, 3 and 5KM race will be at the Spaans Lagoen, Pos Chiquito. The course will be marked by colored buoys indicating the start and turning points and will have a rectangular shape. The course will be 1KM in distance. Swimmers for the 3 and 5KM will have to the swim the course 3 or 5 times, respectively.

• Exploration course and warmup from 7:00 to 7:30AM


8:00 am: 1 KM

9:00 am: 5KM

9:05 am: 3KM

• Special notice for the 3KM and 5KM participants: For the 3KM and 5KM event, a time limit of 15 minutes shall apply from the finish time of the first swimmer in each of the age group and gender categories. Competitors, who do not finish the course within the time limit, shall be removed from the water, except if the Referee allows a competitor outside the time limit, to complete the course. This swimmer is not eligible for any prizes.

• Aruba Swimming Federation officials will record the results.

• Awards ceremony for all 3 races will be at 11.00AM.

PROTESTS All protests against the Referee’s decision must be submitted to the Referee in writing within 30 minutes after the event in question has concluded. It should be signed by the Representative and accompanied by AWG 25.00. The fee is refundable if the protest is upheld.