Our Sponsors
Park Paseo Meet Report – June 19, 2021

Excitement was in the air as the Park Paseo Northstars held their first swim meet in 23 months. This year’s team boasts 129 swimmers, the most in over 20 years, including 49 new members. It was great to see all the kids giving it their all in the pool and to have so many families cheering them on from the deck.

Andrew Teh had a record-breaking day, including swimming a 23.85 in the men’s 15-18 butterfly to steal the title that head coach Kyle Kim-E had held since 2007. Teh also broke a 25-year-old backstroke record with a time of 25.19 and the individual medley record with a time of 55.53.

This week, swimmers got to compete in every individual event and have their times count toward qualifying for the championship meet. As a result, 34 swimmers already qualified for champs in 100 races.  Eight swimmers qualified in every event, including Josh Chao, Alex Chin, Andre Gao, Aditi Gupta, Jalen Hsia, Sydney Lin, Andrew Teh, and Noah Villanueva. The swimmers who qualified in at least one race were Brawlin Carey, Sarah Chao, Erin Chen, Ethan Chen, Everett Chen, Peyton Cheng, Trevor Cheng, Danny Constandse, Rachel Gima, Brynna Hsia, Anaya Hundal, Ariana Hundal, Avyaan Hundal, Aaron Josenhans, Ava Josenhans, Harman Kalra, Evie Kao, Nyah Lin, Tyler Lin, Leo Lo, Owen Lo, Zoe Markus, Keira Patel, Izumi Renshus, Parsa Tamadon, and Karlisha Yu.

Twenty swimmers placed in the top three in all of their events, including Nyah Lin, Sydney Lin, Andrew Teh, and Noah Villanueva, who each placed first in every race they swam. Also finishing in the top three in every event were Maya Buvan, Erin Chen, Ethan Chen, Everett Chen, Peyton Cheng, Andre Gao, Aditi Gupta, Jalen Hsia, Avyaan Hundal, Tyler Lin, Owen Lo, Olivia Tamayo, Andrew Van Velden, Maggie Walton, Karlisha Yu, and Chloe Zhao.

Several swimmers touched the wall first in at least one race, including Luke Carns, Sarah Chao, Aaron Josenhans, Harman Kalra, Leo Lo, Zoe Markus, Natalie Miller, and Parsa Tamadon.

With 45 swimmers making their Northstars debut, we are sure to see a lot of time improvements next week! The new swimmers were Maya Buvan, Kade Baker, Jackson Carns, Luke Carns, Zach Carns, Chris Chen, Milan Chen, Stella Chitra, Gautham Dama, Raksha Devireddy, Efe Elmas, Annabelle Fattman, Juliette Fattman, Josh Inouye, Ariana Khosraviany, Artin Khosraviany, Ahmet Kilic, Clive Kim, Elizabeth Lee, Isaiah Lee, Leo Lo, Grace Markus, Zoe Markus, River McIntyre, Busra Mercan, Marcel Nauli, Zack Nelson, Sienna Patel, Dean Saez, Matt Siap, Eric Tamayo, Olivia Tamayo, Charlee Taylor, James Taylor, Eli Tu, Joey Tu, Andrew Van Velden, Rocco Vena, Lincoln Vienneau, Sammy Vienneau, Maggie Walton, Oliver Walton, Katelyn Williams, and Harry Wu.

Another 31 swimmers competed for the Northstars today, including many who are in only their second season or who came back to the team after taking off a season or two. Giving it their all in the pool were Adrian Bekker, Azra Buvan, Ellie Chen, Anna Cho, CJ Cowgill, Andrew Do, Audrey Do, Jackie Edney, Vicky Edney, Edward Fu, Joshua Gima, Oliver Hanaoka, RJ Hogan, Macey Inouye, Everett Kao, Manvir Kalra, Ally Lao, Andrew Ma, Matthew Ma, Travis Miller, Emily Nauli, Simran Patel, Devynn Slater, Aaron Soleimani, Anh Truong, Khanh Truong, Kenan Uzun, Angelina Van Velden, Abishek Vinujudson, Tanya Vinujudson, Yeowon Yoon, and Zhongwen Zhang.

Photo credits: Jerry Cheng