Carmel Wins 2018 Indiana Swimming LC Senior State Championships
Carmel Swim Club Wins 2018 Indiana Swimming
LC Senior State Championships

Carmel Swim Club was the combined team champion at the 2018 Indiana Swimming Long Course Senior State Championships held from July 19-22 at the Counsilman Billingsley Aquatic Center at Indiana University Bloomington . Carmel won both the women’s and men’s team titles. Mary Cate Pruitt of Irish Aquatics was the women’s high point winner with 147 points; second was Rachel Sabotin of Club Olympia with 135 points; and third was Elizabeth Broshears of Boonville Aquatic Dolphins with 124 points. On the men’s side, Thomas Vanderbrook of Indiana Swim Team was the high point winner with 140 points; second was Nicholas Milikich of Irish Aquatics with 130 points; and third was Lucas Piunti of Duneland Swim Club with 125 points.
The top ten teams were as follows (scores in parentheses):
  • ▪ Carmel Swim Club (2,222)
  • ▪ FAST Tigers (1,939)
  • ▪ Boilermaker (1,670.5)
  • ▪ Irish Aquatics (1,505)
  • ▪ Duneland Swim Club (1,220)
  • ▪ Franklin Regional Swim Team (950)
  • ▪ Indiana Swim Team (917)
  • ▪ SWAC Swim Team (692)
  • ▪ Fort Wayne Swim Team (613)
  • ▪ Northridge Area Swimming Association (544)
On Saturday evening, all 2018 high school graduates were honored before finals. Tessa Wrightson of Zionsville Swim Club was awarded the Gene Lee Outstanding Female Swimmer of the Year Award, and Tim Bennett of Fishers Area Swimming Tigers was the recipient of the Gene Lee Outstanding Male Swimmer of the Year. Congratulations to all athletes who competed in this year’s LC Senior Championships!