Background-image
May 2019 Patriot News

Table of Contents:

  1. Calendar Update
  2. Open Water Swimming Events
  3. LC Hosted Swim Meets and your volunteer obligations
  4. Travel Meets
  5. Parent/Swimmer Education

 

Calendar Update

May 2019

 

Monday, April 39-Thursday, May 2: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Friday, May 3-Monday May 6: NO PRACTICE ALL GROUPS! (Luke, Dave, and Mike gone to Mike’s wedding)

 

Monday, May 6: NO PRACTICE ALL GROUPS

Tuesday May 7-Thursday, May 9: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Friday, May 10-Sunday, May 12: MMSC Bring On The Heat Swim Meet, no practice all groups

 

Monday, May 13, Tuesday May 14: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Wednesday May 15: 6-8:30pm Senior Sprint Series with MMSC, HPAC, PX3

Red 4:15-5:30, White: 4:15-5:45, Blue: 4:15-5:45

Thursday, May 16: Regular practice schedule

Friday, May 17: NO PRACTICE due to BDSC Meet       

Saturday, May 18: Blue/Senior 6:30-8:30am

Sunday, May 19: NO PRACTICE ALL GROUPS

 

Monday, May 20-Thursday, May 23: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Friday, May 24-Sunday, May 26: Practice Schedule TBA, due to Speedo Elite Swim Meet at RecPlex. We will be holding practice between prelims/finals for Saturday and Sunday. It does not look like we will have Friday practice.

 

Monday, May 27 (Memorial Day):

Senior/Blue:7-9a

Red:9-10:15a

White: 9-10:30a

No Barracuda Practice

Tuesdayt May 28-Thursday, May 30: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Friday, May 31-Sunday, June 2: Patriots Welcome To Summer Meet.  Entry sign up HERE.  Job sign up HERE 

 

 

June 2018

Monday, May 27-Thursday, May 30: Regular Practice Schedule All Groups.

Friday, May 31-Sunday, June 2: Patriots Welcome To Summer Meet.  Entry sign up HERE.  Job sign up HERE 

 

Monday, June 3- Friday, June 7: Regular Practice Schedule all groups.

Saturday, June 8: Blue/Senior 6:30-8:30am, last 30 minutes dryland (We are really hoping for this to be an open water swim, weather permitting)

Sunday, June 9: NO PRACTICE ALL GROUPS

 

****On Monday, June 10 we will begin our summer schedule. All morning practices will be LCM and all evening practices will be SCY*****

Barracuda: Monday-Thursday: 5-6pm, Friday: 9-10am

F+T Mon/Wed or Tue/Thurs 5-6:15pm

Red: Monday-Friday 9-10:15am, Monday-Thursday 5-6:15pm

White: Monday-Friday 9-10:30am, Monday-Thursday 5-6:30pm

Blue: Monday-Friday 8:30-10:30am, Monday-Thursday 5-7pm

Senior: Monday-Friday 7-9am, Monday-Thursday 4-6pm

 

Monday, June 10-Wednesday, June 12: Regular Practice Schedule all groups

Thursday, June 13: AM practice only due to OW Zone Clinic. Senior 7-9am, Blue 8:30-10:30am, White 9-10:30am, Red 9-10:15am, Barracuda 9-10am

Friday, June 14: AM practice only due to OW Zone and SWAT Swim Meet. Senior 7-9am, Blue 8:30-10:30am, White 9-10:30am, Red 9-10:15am, Barracuda 9-10am **there will be a small number of coaches at practice due to OW zone. We will swim, but Dave will definitely not be on deck.

Saturday, June 15-Sunday, June 16: NO PRACTICE ALL GROUPS DUE TO SWAT SWIM MEET.

 

Monday, June 17-Tuesday June 18: Regular Practice Schedule all groups

Wednesday June 19: Red:8-9:15, White 8-9:30, Blue 8-10

Senior Sprint Series 10-12:30 with HPAC,MMSC, PX3

Thursday, June 20: Regular Practice Schedule all groups

Friday, June 21: TBA due to SEA Swim Meet and PP Tri

Saturday, June 22: Blue/Senior 6:30-8:30am, last 30 minutes dryland

Sunday, June 23: No practice all groups

 

Monday, June 24-Wednesday June 26: Regular Practice Schedule all groups

Thursday June 27: TBA due to Wisconsin/Illinois Open Water State Champs

Friday, June 28: Regular Practice Schedule all groups

Saturday, June 29: Blue/Senior 6:30-8:30am, last 30 minutes dryland

Sunday, June 30: No practice all groups

 

 

Click Here to view our open water swimming page for this year. On this page you will find information for three events.

1. Central Zone Open Water Weekend: There will be a clinic from 3-7pm on Thursday, June 13th. This event is open to everyone. Signup for this is done on the Patriots Swim Team Website, as we are hosting the clinic.

On Friday, June 14, we will host the Central Zone Open Water Championships. The distances are as follows: 10u 1k, 11-12 2k, 13-14 3k, Senior 5k.

The qualifying standard is an “A” time in the 10u/11-12 200/400/500/800/1000/1500/1650 freestyle. If you have achieved an “A” time in any of those races you are able to participate.

Entries for this event will be done through Wisconsin Swimming, www.wisconsinswimming.org. You must register with Team Wisconsin and following that the Wisconsin Swimming Zone Chair will submit entries on your behalf.

As of right now, Wisconsin Swimming does not have signup information available. We are pushing them to get this posted ASAP, as it affects the event we are hosting. So be on the lookout for that.

 

2. Wisconsin and Illinois LSC Open Water Championships:  On June 27th we are hosting Open Water State Championships.  Click Here to be taken to the event homepage on our website.

Qualifying for this event is a “BB” time in the following races:

10&U/11-12: 200/400/500/800/1000/1500/1650 Free
13-14/Senior: 400/500/800/1000/1500/1650 Free

If you qualify, we would really like for you to participate. We have always had a top 3 showing at OW state championships and we want to continue that trend.  Click Here to view the USA motivational time standard. Look in your athlete’s age area and identify the “BB” time for the races above. If they are faster than that time in any of the listed races, they can sign up to participate.

Please sign up on the team website, as we have that available now. We will submit your entry at the deadline.

 

3. We will have a series of OW clinic open to athletes from both IL and WI. If you have an interest in OW swimming, you should definitely attend. OW swimming is a really exciting and challenging change of pace. There is more strategy and definitely more scenery than your average swimming. Please check this out.

 

 

Long Course Hosted Meets and Volunteer Obligations

Patriots Welcome To Summer Invite

May 31-June2, 2019

Fitness and Technique/Barracuda Groups 1 session during meet

Red/White/Blue/Senior 2 sessions during meet

 

 

Open Water Zones Clinic and Champs

June 13-14, 2019

We have no requirement for this meet. We can use some help on Thursday night with body tattoos for athletes (body marking).

We also need 2 more boats with engines to help during the event on Friday. Officials are in the water at the lead and trail of the pack in boats. If you do have a boat that is under 24’ we will pay for gas for the event! The use will be from 7am-1pm. Follow up with Coach Dave if you can help.

 

WI/IL Open Water State

June 27, 2019

We have no requirement for this meet. We can use some help on Thursday night with body tattoos for athletes (body marking).

We also need 2 more boats with engines to help during the event on Friday. Officials are in the water at the lead and trail of the pack in boats. If you do have a boat that is under 24’ we will pay for gas for the event! The use will be from 7am-1pm. Follow up with Coach Dave if you can help.

 

Patriots July Invite

July 6-8, 2018

Fitness and Technique/Barracuda Groups 1 session during meet

Red/White/Blue/Senior 2 sessions during meet

 

Central Zones Championships

 August 1-4, 2019

Fitness and Technique/Barracuda Groups 1 session during meet

Red/White/Blue/Senior 2 sessions during meet (13&O State Parents, fill a spot if you can, but we will be understanding if you cannot)

**If you have an outside group that is interested in raising some money, we want to help you out. We will pay $500 to any group that provides 22 timers for a session. Contact Luke Towry if you are interested**

 

It is really important that we staff our two invites and the Zones championship appropriately. The hosted meet component of our revenue is vital to our team.  This provides capital for the facility to maintain and enhance our venue. It provides revenue for coaching and maintenance. Hosted meets help us keep fees as competitive as possible.

Travel Meets

Waunakee 12&U

July 10-11, 2019

Details still being firmed

 

Lakeside Invite

July 10-15, 2019

Travel meet to Louisville, KY with a small training stop and some fun plans along the way.  Details to follow

 

 

Parent/Swimmer Education

Ted Talk on youth sports

Breakfast for Athletes

 
    
Partners
SpeedoUSA
Elsmore
RECPLEX
Rogue+Saint+Clothing+Co