Team Record, Sectional qualification highlight 2012 Senior State meet


Desert Thunder Seniors came away with several excellent performances this past weekend at the Arizona Senior State Championships!

Highlighting the event for our seniors was a new team record in the Men’s 400 free relay where the 15-16 boys team of Abhishek Rajadas, Justin Dawson, Brandon Turley and Tyler Beardsley broke an 11-year-old record, one of the oldest on the books, by over three seconds to post the new record at 3:27.20!

In individual performances, Cory Basselen, Julia Boese, Elena Burr, Justin Dawson, Alec Lezcano, Phi Nguyen, and Abhishek Rajadas all returned to finals sessions over the three days.

Overall leading point scorer was Abhishek Rajadas earning 57 points throughout the event! Abhishek’s highest finish was 2nd in the men’s 50 backstroke. Abhishek also finished in the top eight in the men’s 100 and 200-yard backstroke events.

Also scoring well in the big 8 was Alec Lezcano, who finished in the top eight in three events, with his highest placing of 3rd place occurring on the final night in the men’s 50 freestyle. Alec took on two of Arizona’s premier sprinters, including the current high school state champion, in an exciting race to take the bronze and post a new northwest sectional time qualification of 21.70!

On the women’s side, both Cory Basselen and Julia Boese had two top eight finishes each. Cory placed 4th and 6th respectively in the women’s 200 and 100 breaststroke events, while Julia placed 6th in both the women’s 50 and 100 butterfly events. Julia went 6 for 6 events in returning to finals and scoring in each event.

The seniors posted 71% best times for all swims, both morning and evening, with a remarkable 92% of the evening swims being faster and either holding their spot from the morning or improving! Several swimmers went 100% best times throughout the event.

On the team side, the men’s team finished 8th overall, their first time in the top ten results!


Congratulations to all the seniors who attended!

2012 Senior State Team


Brenden Ambrosius, Cory Basselen, Tyler Beardsley, Alexis “Frenchy” Becquart, Julia Boese, Elena Burr, Justin Dawson, Alec Lezcano, Nathan Kroeger, Phi Nguyen, Abhishek Rajadas, Sarah Schmidt and Brandon Turley.