International Swimming Hall of Fame’s 48th Annual Induction Ceremony

Swimming Hall of Fame’s 48th Annual Induction Ceremony
Swimming Greats to Be Recognized Saturday, May 12

FORT LAUDERDALE, March 1 - The International Swimming Hall of Fame (ISHOF) will induct its 48th Class of Honorees on Saturday, May 12, in Fort Lauderdale.  The class includes 11 athletes, coaches and outstanding contributors to the world of aquatics.

The Class of 2012, representing eight different nations, reflects the increasing international diversity seen in elite swimming today.  Heading the list of distinguished honorees is four-time Olympian Gustavo Borges of Brazil.  He won four Olympic medals, two silver and two bronze medals in the 100- and 200-meter freestyle and 400-meter freestyle relay.

Domenico Fioravanti, is the first Italian swimmer to win a gold medal in the Olympic Games winning both the 100- and 200-meter breaststroke events at the Sydney Olympics in 2000.

Hungarian Jozsef Szabo, won the Olympic gold medal at the 1988 Seoul Olympics, one world championship and three European championships in the 200-meter breaststroke.

Tian Liang, of China won two gold, one silver and one bronze medal in two Olympic Games (2000-2004) off the 10 –meter platform, and also won three world championship titles.

Jesus Miguel Rollan Prada, competed in five Olympic water polo tournaments and is regarded as one of the sports all-time greatest goalkeepers, a gold medal in Atlanta in 1996 and silver medal in Barcelona, in 1992.

American synchronized swimmer Jill Sudduth won gold in the team and duet events at the 1994 World Championships and was a member of the 1996 Olympic team that earned a perfect score and won the gold medal in Atlanta in 1996.

Open water swimmer Chad Hundeby, also of the USA won FINA’s first open water world championship in 1991, broke a 16-year-old English Channel Crossing record in 1994 and dominated every major long distance race in the world during his career.

2012 Honor coach Laszlo Kiss, has been a world-class coach for more than 40 years, coaching is swimmers to ten Olympic and eight world championship medals.

This years honoree in the Pioneer category is Frank Kurtz, U.S., the first diver to qualify for three Olympic teams, won a bronze medal at the 1932 Olympics on platform and later became a famous World War II pilot.

Two distinguished contributors will also be recognized:  Canadian Eldon Godfrey and FINA President Dr. Julio Maglione, of Uruguay.  Godfrey has been involved in international aquatic sports administration for nearly forty years as a diving judge, FINA bureau member, UANA president and FINA Bureau honorary member.

Dr. Maglione, Uruguay, has devoted his life to international sports that began as a swimmer in the Pan American Games; was elected FINA president in 2009; and has held several other positions as President of his national swimming federation and IOC member.

For ticket information, call 954-462-6536 or visit

About the International Swimming Hall of Fame.  
The International Hall of Fame, established in 1965 and recognized by FINA (the Olympic governing body for the aquatic sports) in 1968, is a not-for-profit educational organization located in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Our mission is to promote the benefits and importance of swimming as a key to fitness, good health, quality of life, and the water safety of all adults and children. The International Swimming Hall of Fame museum is open 9 – 5 on weekdays and 9 – 2 on weekends.