DCST National Results - Day 1


DCST National Results – Day 1

            Day 1 of the YMCA National Championships in Greensboro, NC for DCST was highlighted by the Men’s 200 Freestyle Relay.  Jack Fergus, Josh DeDina, Daniel Hein and Kei Ishimaru all earn National All-American honors for their 2.9 second time drop on the day, and their 18th place finish.  This was the first time Josh has earned All-American honors.  It was the second time for Fergus and Hein, and the ninth time for Ishimaru.  In the individual events, Ishimaru swam his personal best 200 IM with a time of 1:56.22.

            On the female side, Emily Launer tied Grant Alef on top of DCST’s All-American list with her 17th place finish.  Launer has been named an All-American 33 times in her career.  Her prelim time was a personal best and new DCST team record.  Caitlynn Moon also had an excellent swim in the 500 yard Freestyle with her over 2 second time drop and 29th place finish.

DCST Results – Day 1

Women’s 100 Backstroke

            Kristin Van Oost – 1:00.56 (125th)

Men’s 100 Backstroke

            Jack Fergus – 53.90 (Tied 64th)
            Daniel Hein – 54.65 (92nd)

Women’s 500 Freestyle

            Emily Launer
                        Prelims – 4:55.42 (15th) – DCST Team Record
                        Finals – 4:56.63 (17th) – National All-American
            Caitlynn Moon
                        Prelims – 4:59.28 (26th)
                        Finals – 5:00.15 (29th)

Men’s 200 IM

            Kei Ishimaru – 1:56.22 (40th)
            Josh DeDina – 1:59.09 (74th)

Women’s 200 Medley Relay

            Emily Launer, Brittnie Dean, Sharron Isola, Caitlynn Moon – 1:51.56 (49th)

Men’s 200 Medley Relay

            Jack Fergus, Josh DeDina, Daniel Hein, Kei Ishimaru
                        Prelims – 1:36.74 (Tied 19th)
                        Finals – 1:36.49 (18th) – National All-Americans

Team Scores

            DCST Women – Tied 39th
            DCST Men – 36th
            DCST Combined – 24th

Time Trials

            100 Backstroke
                        Sharron Isola – 1:01.56
                        Tara Gidaszewski – 1:02.39
                        Ryan Schultz – 59.35

            50 Free
                        Brittnie Dean – 25.62