DCST National Results - Day 3

DCST National Results – Day 3

            Kei Ishimaru was DCST’s big star on Day 3 of the Winter National Championships.  Kei dropped 4.5 seconds in prelims and then over more than a second in finals of the 400 IM to place 16th.  His time in finals was new team record and earned him his second National All-American honor of the week.  This is the 10th time he has earned this honor in his career.

            Daniel Hein (1.2 second time drop) and Emily Launer (0.3 second time drop) also broke their previous team records with best times in the 200 yard Backstroke.  The fourth team record broken on the day was by Launer, Tara Gidaszewski, Kristin Van Oost and Caitlynn Moon in the 800 yard Freestyle Relay.  In addition to the relay, Kristin Van Oost had an outstanding day with personal best times in both the 400 yard IM (0.5 second time drop) and 200 yard Backstroke (0.4 seconds).  In time trials, Jack Fergus improved his 100 yard Freestyle time by 0.8 seconds.

DCST Results – Day 3

Women’s 400 yard IM

            Kristin Van Oost – 4:37.69 (58th)

Men’s 400 yard IM

Kei Ishimaru
            Prelims – 4:05.92 (18th)
            Finals – 4:04.86 (16th) – DCST Team Record, National All-American

Women’s 200 yard Backstroke

            Emily Launer
                        Prelims – 2:04.10 (22nd) – DCST Team Record
                        Finals – 2:06.63 (30th)
            Kristin Van Oost – 2:08.05 (71st)
            Sharron Isola – 2:09.97 (92nd)
            Tara Gidaszewski – 2:11.15 (104th)

Men’s 200 yard Backstroke

            Daniel Hein – 1:56.63 (54th) – New 13 – 14 Boys DCST Team Record
            Jack Fergus - DQ

Women’s 800 yard Freestyle Relay

            Emily Launer, Tara Gidaszewski, Kristin Van Oost, Caitlynn Moon – 7:42.76 (21st) – DCST Team Record

Team Scores

            DCST Women – 33rd
            DCST Men – 43rd
            DCST Combined – 27th

Time Trials

100 yard Freestyle

Jack Fergus – 49.37
Brittnie Dean – 55.39
Tara Gidaszewski – 57.84

            200 yard Backstroke

                        Ryan Schultz – 2:04.16

            50 yard Freestyle

                        Josh DeDina – 22.71