Through three hot and long days, Desert Thunder swimmers stayed loose and focused to produce several quality performances at the 2012 Arizona June Long Course Open.

Highlighting the event were two new team records for Levi Siwek and Alec Lezcano. Levi broke the 13-14 boys 200 backstroke record in the morning prelim swim, then turned around that evening to lower the standard to 2:27.94. Alec followed a similar pattern, first breaking the boys 15-16 50 butterfly record in the prelim session, and then going on to take the win and lower the record to 27.02.

In addition to his victory in the 50 fly, Alec went on to win three other events in the senior division: the 50 freestyle, 50 backstroke and the 100 backstroke. Alec’s 100 backstroke time of 1:03.67 was also a new sectional time qualification. Alec went on to take the 2nd place overall high point award for the senior men’s division.

Cory Basselen also added a new sectional qualification this weekend, swimming to a 1:19.59 100-meter breaststroke.

Fletcher Milloy and Ellinore Duncan added individual victories in the 50 fly and 100 breaststroke, respectively.

Desert Thunder Aquatics placed sixth in the team division, matching up against over 20 teams including two from out of state. Scoring points for Desert Thunder, which meant placing in the top eight in finals, were Edda Anderson, Cory Basselen, Sierra Bigelow, Julia Boese, Elena Burr, Ellinore Duncan, Makenna Ebiner, Dylan Edge, Diana Gomez, Chris Gummow, Vincent Hemingway, Bayleigh Ishmael, Alec Lezcano, Lexi Lezcano, Finnegan Lynch, Marina McInelly, Fletcher Milloy, Elizabeth Quiroga, Abhishek Rajadas, Levi Siwek, Archie Spindler, Leah Talarico, and Simon Werkhoven.

Overall, personal best times were in the majority throughout the weekend of racing. Congratulations to the team!