Kirsty Coventry Elected to IOC Athletes Commission

Olympics conclude in London

LONDON, UK--The 2012 Olympics concluded their 17-day run (July 27-August
12) yesterday in London, England. During the Closing Ceremony, it was
announced that swimmer Kirsty Coventry of Zimbabwe was one of four
athletes elected to the Athletes Commission of the International Olympic
Committee (IOC). She will serve an 8-year term, and the spot also
includes IOC membership. With her election, Aquatics maintains a
presence on the commission, as the term of swimmer Rania Elwani, Egypt,
with these elections.

Also as part of the Closing Ceremony, the following Aquatics athletes
served as flagbearer for the ceremony:
  -Ching Wei, American Samoa,
  -Karin O'Reilly, Antigua & Barbuda,
  -Anderson Chee Wei Lim, Brunei,
  -Angelika Ouedraogo, Burkina Faso,
  -Aminata Aboubakar Yacoub, Congo,
  -Spyridon Gianniotis, Greece,
  -Karen Vilorio, Honduras,
  -Julia Hassler, Liechtenstein,
  -Laurent Carnol, Luxembourg,
  -Pandelela Rinong Pamg, Malaysia,
  -Giordan Harris, Marshall Islands,
  -Debra Daniel, Micronesia
  -Prasiddha Jung Shah, Nepal,
  -Ranomi Kromowidjojo, Netherlands,
  -Benjamin Hockin, Paraguay,
  -Jasmine Alkhaldi, Philippines,
  -Anastasia Davydova, Russia,
  -George Bovell, Trinidad & Tobago,
  -Oussama Mellouli, Tunisia, and
  -Ganzi Mugula, Uganda.

A full list of the flagbearers for the Closing Ceremony can be found
online here: