US Masters Swimming Elects Officers and Honors Members

US Masters Swimming Elects Officers and Honors Members

September 16, 2012, Greensboro, N.C.— 2012 United States Aquatics Sports Convention
U.S. Masters Swimming has concluded its annual meeting during the United States Aquatic Sports
Convention. In addition to committee meetings and rules and legislation reviews, USMS held officer
elections and honored many of its deserving volunteers with service awards.
USMS is pleased to announce that Bruce Hopson (Ozark) and Jill Gellatly (Southwest) will be joining
the Board of Directors. In addition, USMS Past-President Mel Goldstein has been named as a
candidate for USAS to put forth to FINA to serve on the FINA Masters Committee.
The Capt. Ransom Arthur M.D. Award is given annually to the volunteer who epitomizes the spirit
of Capt. Ransom J. Arthur, the founding father of U.S. Masters Swimming. In 1970, Capt. Arthur
envisioned lifelong fitness and lifestyle benefits for adults through aquatic training and competition.
Each year, the recipient of the Ransom J. Arthur award has demonstrated top-tier commitment and
dedication to the mission of USMS. The 2011 recipient is Doug Church (Indiana).
Each year USMS and partner Speedo honor a coach who exemplifies the highest standards in Masters
coaching, including growth and development of Masters swimming with an all-inclusive approach, one
that welcomes swimmers of all levels and abilities. This year’s Speedo/USMS Coach of the Year is
Stuart Kahn of Davis Aquatic Masters.
U.S. Masters Swimming honors volunteers whose service stands out in scope and impact with the
Dorothy Donnelly Service Award. Recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service Award have made
significant contributions on the local, regional, and national level. The award is named after Dorothy
Donnelly, one of USMS’s first super-volunteers. This year, recipients of the Dorothy Donnelly Service
Award are: Jim Barber (Indiana), Marianne Bradley (Florida), Bob Bruce (Oregon), Chris Campbell
(Pacific), Jim Clemmons (Pacific), Brian Cohn (Minnesota), Jill Gellatly (Gulf), Susan Kirk (New
Jersey), George McVey (Niagara), Robert Mitchell (Southern Pacific), Debbie Morrin-Norlund
(Colonies), Lori Payne (Ozark), Tom Spence (Lake Erie), Jeanne Teisher (Oregon), and Paul Wrangell
The June Krauser Communications Award is presented annually to an individual or group whose
communicative efforts have contributed to the growth, improvement, or success of U.S. Masters
Swimming. The award is named for June Krauser, the original author of USMS’s first official rulebook
and a prolific writer and editor of many newsletters and other publications in the Masters swimming
world. This year’s recipient is Phil Whitten (Arizona).
U.S. Masters Swimming considers club development a priority, and recognizes a club every year with
the Club of the Year Award. Masters swim clubs that do the most to promote the values and mission
of U.S. Masters Swimming, not only in their communities, but also at the national level, are candidates
for this award. This year’s Club of the Year is the Sarasota YMCA Sharks Masters (Florida).
The U.S. Masters Swimming Coaches Committee recognizes coaches who are building our
membership in communities throughout the country. The Kerry O’Brien Coaches Award is named to
honor Coach Kerry O'Brien of Walnut Creek Masters, who embodies the passion, dedication, and heart
that these coaches bring to the pool deck. The 2012 recipients are Valeriy Boreyko (University of San
Francisco Masters), Tim Edmonds (Stanford Masters), Gary Henderson (Villages Aquatics), Mark
Kurtz (Virginia Masters), Kurt Olson (Modesto Aquatic Club), Laura Schuster (Mountain View
Masters), and Leslie Scott (Greenville Splash Masters Club).
The Championship Committee and Raleigh Area Masters select an individual each year who makes
significant contributions to USMS National Championship meets. The award recognizes efforts to
assist USMS and meet hosts in providing excellent competitive conditions for championship racing or
otherwise contributing to the success of USMS National Championships or national championship-
level competitions, including international meets. This year’s recipient is Jeff Roddin (Potomac
Lastly, the Ted Haartz U.S. Masters Swimming Staff Appreciation Award recognizes one
individual each year who demonstrates excellence in assisting and supporting the U.S. Masters
Swimming staff in the national office with its professional duties of servicing, promoting, and building
the membership. This award celebrates the organization’s volunteer roots, as well as its future,
specifically by recognizing efforts that support and assist the staff in its responsibilities. The award is
named in honor of Ted Haartz, a leader in U.S. Masters Swimming since 1970, who helped establish
the foundation for U.S. Masters Swimming’s evolution into a professionally operated organization.
During Haartz’s tenure as President, U.S. Masters Swimming became the only self-governed Masters
organization in the world. This year’s recipient is Ed Tsuzuki (New Jersey).
About U.S. Masters Swimming
U.S. Masters Swimming, founded in 1970, is a membership-operated national governing body that
promotes health, wellness, fitness and competition for adults through swimming. It does so by
partnering with more than 1,500 adult swim programs across the country; promoting information via
the bimonthly member magazine, SWIMMER, monthly e-newsletters, STREAMLINES, and website,; and by sanctioning and promoting pool, open water and virtual events and competitions.
More than 55,000 adults are registered members of U.S. Masters Swimming.
Contact: Laura Hamel: (941) 256-8767;