New York Plays Host to the 2012 USA Swimming Golden Goggle Awards




New York Plays Host to the 2012 USA Swimming Golden Goggle Awards

Annual awards show honors the best swimming performances of the year

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The top swimmers in the U.S. will reconvene in Times Square this November for the 2012 USA Swimming Golden Goggle Awards. Michael Phelps (Baltimore, Md.), Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.), Allison Schmitt (Canton, Mich.) and Dana Vollmer (Granbury, Texas.) headline this year’s nominations with four nominations each. The event, which is in its ninth year, will take place November 19 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

A total of 10 Golden Goggle awards will be presented this year, including the Impact Award and Athlete Humanitarian Award, the latter which is given out once every four years. Previous recipients of the Athlete Humanitarian Award include Gary Hall, Jr. in 2004 and Cullen Jones in 2008.

This year’s event, hosted by Bob Costas of NBC Sports, will mix swim stars with celebrities, business leaders, and other entertainment icons. Costas has been the prime-time host of a record ten Olympics and is one of the most recognizable faces in sports. He was also recently selected for the Walter Cronkite Award for distinction in journalism

Nominations for the event are based on the year’s top accomplishments by U.S. swimmers, focusing primarily on the 2012 Olympic Games. The U.S. Team dominated the pool in London, taking home an impressive 31 medals- 16 gold, nine silver and six bronze.

The nominees for the 2012 Male Athlete of the Year award include Nathan Adrian (Bremerton, Wash.), Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.), Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fl.) and Michael Phelps. The four men combined for 10 gold medals in London. The 2012 Female Athlete of the Year category features Rebecca Soni (Plainsboro, NJ.), Allison Schmitt, Missy Franklin and Dana Vollmer. These four swimmers combined for an impressive 12 gold medals, breaking four world records in the process.

Other nominees include Anthony Ervin (Valencia, Calif.), Davis Tarwater (Knoxville, Ten.), Jessica Hardy (Long Beach, Calif.) and Tyler Clary (Riverside, Calif.) for the Perseverance Award, an honor which is given to the athlete who came back from adversity, retirement, illness or injury. The Breakout Performance of the Year award nominees are Cammile Adams (Houston, Texas.), Katie Ledecky (Bethesda, Md.), Scott Weltz (San Jose, Calif.), Haley Anderson (Granite Bay, Calif.) and Breeja Larson (Mesa, Ariz.).

Fans can vote online in all categories except for the Impact and Athlete Humanitarian Award. More information about the nominees and the online voting is available at Online voting begins October 8 and will continue through November 9. A percentage of the fan vote will count towards the final ballot.

Proceeds from the Golden Goggle Awards will benefit the USA Swimming Foundation, whose mission is to save lives and build champions – in the pool and in life. In addition to its Make a Splash initiative, a national, child-focused water safety campaign that stresses the importance of learning to swim, the USA Swimming Foundation supports the U.S. National Team and its development efforts aim to establish an endowment to strengthen the future of USA Swimming’s programs and services. The Foundation also serves as the home for our National and Olympic Team Alumni reunions and regional events.

Media members interested in covering the event should apply for accreditation at later than November 9.

The complete list of 2012 nominees is as follows:

Breakout Performer of the Year

Cammile Adams

Hayley Anderson

Breeja Larson

Katie Ledecky

Scott Weltz

Perseverance Award

Tyler Clary

Anthony Ervin

Jessica Hardy

Davis Tarwater

Coach of the Year

Bob Bowman

Teri McKeever

Dave Salo

Todd Schmitz

Gregg Troy

Relay Performance of the Year

Women’s 4 x 200 Free Relay – Olympics

Men’s 4 x 200 Free Relay – Olympics

Women’s 4 x 100 Medley Relay – Olympics

Men’s 4 x 100 Medley Relay – Olympics

Female Performance of the Year

200m Free – Allison Schmitt – Olympics

800m Free – Katie Ledecky – Olympics

200m Back – Missy Franklin – Olympics

200m Breast – Rebecca Soni – Olympics

100m Fly – Dana Vollmer – Olympics

Male Performance of the Year

100m Free – Nathan Adrian – Olympics

100m Back – Matt Grevers – Olympics

200m Back – Tyler Clary – Olympics

200m IM – Michael Phelps – Olympics

400m IM – Ryan Lochte – Olympics

Female Athlete of the Year

Missy Franklin

Allison Schmitt

Rebecca Soni

Dana Vollmer

Male Athlete of the Year

Nathan Adrian

Matt Grevers

Ryan Lochte

Michael Phelps

 About USA Swimming

As the National Governing Body for the sport of swimming in the United States, USA Swimming is a 300,000-member service organization that promotes the culture of swimming by creating opportunities for swimmers and coaches of all backgrounds to participate and advance in the sport through clubs, events and education. Our membership is comprised of swimmers from the age group level to the Olympic Team, as well as coaches and volunteers. USA Swimming is responsible for selecting and training teams for international competition including the Olympic Games, and strives to serve the sport through its core objectives: Build the base, Promote the sport, Achieve competitive success. For more information, visit


About The USA Swimming Foundation

The USA Swimming Foundation serves as the philanthropic arm of USA Swimming. Established in 2004, the Foundation works to strengthen the sport by saving lives and building champions – in the pool and in life. Whether we’re equipping our children with the life-saving skill of learn-to-swim, or providing financial support to our heroes on the U.S. National Team, the USA Swimming Foundation aims to provide the wonderful experience of swimming to kids at all levels across the country. The Foundation also serves as the home for our National and Olympic Team Alumni reunions and regional events. The development efforts of the USA Swimming Foundation aim to establish an endowment to strengthen the future of USA Swimming’s programs and services. To learn more, visit