Ware sisters earn Canada's first Grand Prix medal

Ware sisters earn Canada’s first Grand Prix medal

ROSTOCK, Germany – Carol-Anne Ware and her sister Pamela Ware of Beloeil, Que., earned Canada’s first medal this season on the FINA Grand Prix diving circuit taking the bronze on women’s 10-metre synchro to conclude the second stop.

Yajie Si and Jie Lian of China were the winners with 332.70 points.  Karla Rivas and Mocica Marquez of Mexico stood second at 295.92 and the Ware sisters followed at 287.94. It was their eighth career Grand Prix medal as a synchro pair which includes five off the tower.

‘’The synchro tower and their individual events will be their main focus this season,’’ said the Ware sisters’ coach Aaron Dziver of Montreal.  ‘’They were happy to get the medal today but were hoping for a better performance overall.  It was a tough week; they didn`t get all their training in because Carol-Anne was ill.’’

On men’s 10-metre tower, Jian Yang and Siyi Xie, both of China, were 1-2 and Vadim Kaptur of Belarus third.

Maxim Bouchard of St. Constant, Que., in his second career Grand Prix, took seventh spot overall.  He was third after the preliminaries at 411.90 and scored slightly lower in his semifinal.

‘’Maxim’s goal this year is to surpass 500 points and he is well on his way to achieving that,’’ said Dziver.

Next on Diving Canada’s calendar are the Winter Nationals February 28-March 3 in Winnipeg.

Chinese divers continue dominance in Rostock (GER)
Lausanne (SUI), February 25, 2013 – Chinese divers occupied the majority of the podiums, clinching all eight titles on offer, during the second stage of the FINA Diving Grand Prix 2013, taking place in Rostock (GER) from February 22-24. 
The Chinese victories went to Chao He (men’s 3m springboard individual and synchro with Shixin Li), Jian Yang (men’s 10m platform individual and synchro with Siyi Xie), Han Wang (women’s 3m springboard) and Jiao Liu/Qulin Zheng in the synchro same event, and Yajie Si (women’s 10m platform individual and synchro pairing with Jie Lian).
Other countries to win a medal in Rostock were Belarus, Italy, Canada, Mexico, Russia and Ukraine.


3m springboard: 1. Chao He (CHN) 498.90; 2. Shixin Li (CHN) 493.30; 3. Illya Kvasha (UKR) 483.35
10m platform: 1. Jian Yang (CHN) 486.05; 2. Siyi Xie (CHN) 469.00; 3. Vadim Kaptur (BLR) 415.85
3m springboard synchro: 1. Chao He/Shixin Li (CHN) 436.05; 2. Jonathan Ruvalcaba/Carlos Moreno (MEX) 379.71; 3. Oleksandr Gorshkovozov/Oleg Kolodiy (UKR) 372.78
10m platform synchro: 1. Siyi Xie/Jian Yang (CHN) 482.43; 2. Jahir Ocampo/Diego Balleza (MEX) 394.32; 3. Vadim Kaptur/Yauheni Karaliov (BLR) 360.30
3m springboard: 1. Han Wang (CHN) 368.40; 2. Jiao Liu (CHN) 321.40; 3. Maria Marconi (ITA) 309.90
10m platform: 1. Yajie Si (CHN) 402.90; 2. Jie Lian (CHN) 371.65; 3. Iulia Prokopchuk (UKR) 348.85
3m springboard synchro: 1. Jiao Liu/Qulin Zheng (CHN) 307.50; 2. Kristina Ilinykh/Maria Polyakova (RUS) 284.70; 3. Viktoriya Kesar/Anna Pysmenska (UKR) 278.70
10m platform synchro: 1. Yajie Si/Jie Lian (CHN) 332.70; 2. Karla Rivas/Monica Marquez (MEX) 295.92; 3. Carol Ann Ware/Pamela Ware (CAN) 287.94

February 15-17  Madrid   ESP
February 22-24  Rostock  GER
May 2-5  Gatineau  CAN
May 9-12  Fort-Lauderdale  USA
May 16-19  San Juan  PUR
May 29-31  Kazan   RUS
June 28-30  Bolzano  ITA


For more information:

Jeff Feeney
Events & Communications Manager
Diving Canada
Tel.: (613) 736-5238, ext. 2101

Site Web:
Twitter :
Facebook :