FINA Newsletter - September 20, 2017


follow us

















September 20, 2017


Fuji and Montreal - two new hosts of the 2018 FINA Diving World Series



FINA is pleased to reveal the 2018 calendar of the prestigious annual circuit of the FINA Diving World Series.

The event will kick-off in Beijing (CHN) on March 9-11. The 2018 edition will then stop in Fuji (JPN) on March 15-17 while the last two meets will be held in Montreal (CAN) and Kazan (RUS) on April 27-29 and May 4-6 respectively.

The Chinese capital has been hosting a leg of this Series since 2011 without exception while Kazan is on board since 2015, the year the city organised a fantastic FINA World Championships.

Fuji and Montreal are both new hosts of this important international rendezvous, which gathers the world's diving elite each year.

There are 10 events on the programme: men's 3m springboard / men's 10m platform, men's synchronised 3m springboard / 10m platform, women's 3m springboard / women's 10m platform, women's synchronised 3m springboard / 10m platform and two mixed events (3m + 10m).

The total prize money for the Series amounts to USD 1,350,000.

You can closely follow LIVE all the results of this meet on the FINA app, and all finals will be live streamed on FINAtv.

The 2017 edition was led by diving powerhouse China, who topped the ranking of every single event. Xie Siyi led the men's 3m, while Chen Aisen was the best in the 10m platform. Shi Tingmao won the ranking of the women's 3m and Si Yajie the 10m.

China was the best in all synchronised and mixed events in 2017.

Check out 2017 results and rankings

FINA Diving World Series 2018 calendar

1. Beijing (CHN) - March 9-11

2. Fuji (JPN) March 15-17

3. Montreal (CAN) April 27-29

4. Kazan (RUS) May 4-6


FINA forms new Athletes Committee of 16 members


In the spotlight



The 2017 – 2021 FINA Athletes Committee (FINA AC) was recently announced with a number of former members re-appointed and six new members appointed.

  • Penny HEYNS - Chairman and FINA Bureau Member
  • Britta KAMRAU - Vice Chairman
  • Camelia POTEC - Honorary Secretary
  • Kirsty COVENTRY - Member
  • Virginie DEDIEU  - Member
  • Orlando DUQUE - Member
  • Malick FALL - Member
  • Aaron FELTHAM  - Member
  • Stavroula KOZOMPOLI - Member
  • Patrick MURPHY - Member
  • Aaron PEIRSOL - Member
  • Thiago PEREIRA  - Member
  • Ryan PINI - Member
  • Tingmao SHI - Member
  • Kaori TAKEMURA - Member
  • Matthew DUNN - FINA Bureau Liaison

During my tenure on the FINA AC I have seen the Committee grow and achieve several important milestones. Each step forward has admittedly taken time however momentum has been created and the FINA AC is steadily strengthening its influence within FINA, ensuring the voice of the athletes is represented at all decision-making levels” says Penny Heyns, FINA AC Chairperson.

Since 2013 the FINA AC Chairperson has represented the athlete’s voice on the FINA Bureau and now, for the first time the FINA AC enjoys full representation of all six FINA Disciplines.

Furthermore, a FINA AC representative has been appointed to each respective Technical Committee as a full member:

  • Tingmao SHI  - TDC - Technical Diving Committee
  • Orlando DUQUE - THDC - Technical High Diving Committee
  • Britta KAMRAU  - TOWSC - Technical Open Water Swimming Committee
  • Aaron PEIRSOL  - TSC - Technical Swimming Committee
  • Virginie DEDIEU - TASC - Technical Artistic Swimming Committee
  • Stavroula KOZOMPOLI  - TWPC – Technical water Polo Committee

This is possibly the most important step forward thus far giving the FINA AC a vote on the platform where decisions most directly affect the athletes and our sport.

"The FINA AC provides a voice to all aquatic athletes and via this platform allows them to influence the development of all aquatic disciplines at multiple levels. The athletes are our sport and therefore it is important that their collective views can shape the future of FINA" says Matthew Dunn, FINA Bureau Liaison

The new FINA AC forms a very capable team and recognises their responsibility toward all aquatic athletes. As such they invite athletes to communicate concerns, issues and new ideas with them via email on


SWC 2017 to resume in Hong Kong at the end of the month


The 2017 FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup is about to resume in Hong Kong (HKG) on September 30, opening the second cluster of the meet.

World Record holder Sarah Sjostrom of Sweden is currently leading the ranking with 266 points.
Last year overall Series winner Katinka Hosszu of Hungary follows the Swedish star with 176 points and World Champion Ranomi Kromowidjojo of the Netherlands and Mireia Belmonte of Spain are third with 122 points each.

In the men’s races, 2015 overall winner Chad Le Clos of South Africa leads the ranking with 159 points, while two Russians, Kirill Prigoda and Vladimir Morozov, follow with 93 points each.

Seven new World Records have been established so far at the three first legs of the Series: Sjostrom broke the 50m free (23.10) as well as the 100m free (50.77) WRs at Moscow inaugural leg. She bettered the latest mark in the 100m free (50.58) in Eindhoven and also established a new WR in the 200m free (1:50.43) in the same city. Belmonte added an extra WR at this meet, breaking the 400m IM global mark (4:18.94). Hosszu umproved the world’s standard time in the 100m IM (56.51) in Berlin and Kromowidjojo set a new 50m free WR (22.93), also in the German capital.

In addition, two new World Cup Records were established in Berlin by Morozov and Hosszu in the 100m free (45.23) and the 400m IM (4:19.82) respectively.

Detailed results and times can be found on FINA website and FINA mobile app.

The FINA/airweave Swimming World Cup 2017 is live streamed on FINAtv.



>>Play the Video<<


> FINA Homepage
> News
> Press Releases


download our app

follow us












Fédération Internationale de Natation (FINA)

The Fédération Internationale de Natation, FINA (founded in 1908) is the governing body for aquatics worldwide. Its five disciplines - Swimming, Open Water Swimming, Diving, Water Polo and Synchronised Swimming - are all included in the Olympic programme. High Diving is on the World Championships programme since 2013. FINA organises World Championships, World Swimming Championships in 25m-pool and World Masters Championships every two years. FINA counts 207 affiliated National Federations on the five continents and has its headquarters in Lausanne (SUI).




> Unsubscribe <


FINA Office // Chemin de Bellevue 24a/24b - 1005 Lausanne // Tel. (+41 21) 310 47 10 // Fax (+41 21) 312 66 10