Skippers clinch Lake Conference championship

Skippers clinch Lake Conference championship

Click here for full results

Minnetonka hosted St. Michael-Albertville in the final conference meet on Tuesday, October 13, 2020. Their 95-83 win gave them their first Lake Conference title since 2012.

The meet began with the Skippers capturing the first three places in the 200 Yard Medley Relay. Abby Kapeller, Georgia Jorgenson, Nadia Helm, and Rachel Shelstad finished first swimming 1:51.47, followed by Ellie Muench, Quinci Wheeler, Audrey Soetanto, and Regan Miller in second swimming 1:53.22, and Maggie Rhodes, Eleanor Petrin, Regan Kitt and Tori Sigfrid third swimming 2:01.20. Rae Vaughn, Nora Thiss, Addie Diaz and Ellery Kitt swam in exhibition, touching the wall in 1:59.60.

Soetanto won the 200 Yard Freestyle swimming 1:57.83. Rylie Ulett was third with a time of 2:08.18, with Thiss fourth swimming 2:14.42 and Sigfrid swimming 2:05.36 in exhibition.

In the 200 Yard IM, Helm swam the winning time of 2:12.82. Miller was second swimming 2:13.10, with Petrin fourth swimming 2:20.75 and Jorgenson swimming 2:20.48 in exhibition. 

Paige Dillon won the 50 Yard Freestyle with a time of 25.43. Vaugh was third swimming 26.19, just out-touching teammate Aralyn Vogel, who was fourth swimming 26.21. Regan Kitt swam 28.98 in exhibition.

Rachel Patton posted 207.45 points to win diving. Raili Peterson scored 168.85 for third place, and Courtney Rasch was sixth with 143.60 points.

In the 100 Yard Butterfly, the Skippers placed second through fourth, led by Wheeler swimming 1:01.61, Ellery Kitt swimming 1:04.85, and Ulett finishing fourth swimming 1:05.74. In exhibition, Shelstad swam 1:08.27.

Minnetonka scored in the top three spots in the 100 Yard Freestyle, led by Kapeller swimming 53.17. Soetanto was second swimming 54.96, and Katelyn Lai third with a time of 57.71.

Dillon won the 500 Yard Freestyle with a time of 5:20.47. Vogel was second swimming 5:32.74, with Thiss placing fourth swimming 5:42.89 and Regan Kitt swimming 5:46.21 in exhibition.

The Skippers earned points in the 200 Yard Freestyle relay in the second and third places. Muench, Dillon, Ellery Kitt and Kapeller swam 1:44.21 for second place, followed by Ulett, Lai, Vogel, and Miller swimming 1:45.09 for third place. Rhodes, Petrin, Jorgenson and Shelstad were in fourth pace swimming 1:47.13, while Sigfrid, Diaz, Vaughn, and Wheeler swam 1:42.35 in exhibition.

Minnetonka swam the rest of the meet in exhibition.

In the 100 Yard Backstroke, Shelstad swam 1:06.05, Lai swam 1:07.06, Ellery Kitt swam 1:08.30 and Jorgenson finished in 1:08.95.

Petrin was first to the wall in the 100 Yard Breaststroke, swimming 1:15.15, closely followed by Diaz swimming 1:15.82, Helm swimming 1:16.95, and Rhodes finishing in 1:17.55.

Minnetonka’s four relays, swimming in exhibition, posted the four fastest times. Miller, Soetanto, Wheeler and Muench swam 3:45.94; Dillon, Sigfrid, Rhodes and Vogel were next swimming 3:47.42, closely followed by Helm, Diaz, Lai and Thiss swimming 3:48.99 and Kapeller, Vaughn, Ulett and Regan Kitt finishing in 3:53.30.

JV Championships will be swum as a dual meet at Wayzata on Wednesday, October 14.