Skippers section win ends a perfect season

Skippers section win ends a perfect season

Click here for full results

Sections swimming looked very different this year as teams competed in quads for the Sections title at meets hosted in two pools. Chanhassen High School, Chaska High School, Eden Prairie High School, and Minnetonka High School competed in the “west” meet at the Minnetonka Aquatics Center, while Bloomington Jefferson High School, New Prague High School, Prior Lake High School, and Shakopee High School swam at Shakopee. All diving also took place in Shakopee.

Minnetonka faced stiff competition and the outcome of the “west” meet was unclear until after the two meets were merged. Skippers awoke Saturday morning to learn they had scored 557 points to retain the 2AA Sections title and claim an undefeated season. Eden Prairie was second scoring 197 points, followed by Prior Lake (282), Chanhassen (269), Shakopee (180), Chaska (143), Bloomington Jefferson (80), and New Prague (73). 

All Minnetonka swimmers and three divers finished top sixteen. Minnetonka also claimed wins in four individual events and one relay, as well as two new Section 2AA records.

Minnetonka began the meet with a second-place finish in the 200 Yard Medley Relay, with Abby Kapeller, Quinci Wheeler, Audrey Soetanto and Regan Miller swimming 1:44.03.

Addie Diaz won the 200 Yard Freestyle in 1:51.37, with Maija Kangas fourth swimming 1:54.05. Both swims would have qualified for the state meet. Rae Vaugh placed ninth swimming 1:58.55, and Katelyn Lai was thirteenth with a time of 2:00.28.

Soetanto, Paige Dillon and Wheeler all placed top eight in the 200 Yard IM. Soetanto’s time of 2:08.79 was within the state qualifying standard and good for fourth place. Dillon placed fifth swimming 2:11.40, and Wheeler seventh with a time of 2:21.38. Aralyn Vogel scored in fourteenth place, swimming 2:16.95.

Kapeller—a two-event individual winner in the meet—claimed her first win in the 50 Freestyle, swimming 23.40. Miller was third swimming 23.92, Nadia Helm fifth in 24.09, and Rachel Shelstad seventh with a time of 24.69. Kapeller, Miller and Helm all swam state-qualifying times.

Rachel Patton was second in diving with 370.45 points, while Raili Peterson rounded out the top eight with 314.00 points. Madeline Sedley placed thirteenth with 287.65 points, while Courtney Rasch placed twenty-first.

Soetanto swam a state qualifying time of 57.22 to win second place in the 100 Yard Butterfly. Maggie Rhodes and Eleanor Petrin were sixth and seventh, swimming 59.47 and 59.49. Regan Kitt placed tenth with a time of 1:00.93.

Helm placed third in the 100 Yard Freestyle swimming 52.25, just ahead of Miller in fourth place with a time of 52.53. Tori Sigfrid placed fifth swimming 53.23, and Shelstad seventh with a time of 54.11. Helm, Miller and Sigfrid all swam state-qualifying times.

Diaz claimed her second individual title in the 500 Yard Freestyle, touching the wall in 5:00.29 and setting a new 2AA section record. Kangas was second, swimming 5:04.09; both were state-qualifying times. Ellery Kitt and Vaughn both finished in the top eight, with Kitt placing fifth swimming 5:16.07 and Vaughn in sixth with a time of 5:16.55.

The 200 Yard Freestyle Relay was a repeat of the first races as the Skippers placed second in a time of 1:37.16, swum by Sigfrid, Shelstad, Dillon, and Helm.

Kapeller’s second win came in the 100 Yard Backstroke, in a time of 55:29. Dillon was second swimming 56.24 (also in a state-qualifying time), with Rhodes seventh in 1:00.25. Ellie Muench placed eleventh swimming 1:01.65.

Wheeler placed third in the 100 Yard Breaststroke, swimming 1:04.65. Rylie Ulett, Georgia Jorgenson and Nora Thiss placed ninth, tenth, and eleventh, swimming 1:08.15, 1:08.47 and 1:09.21.

Minnetonka ended the meet winning their fifth event as Kapeller, Soetanto, Diaz and Helm swam 3:27.31 in the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay. Kapeller’s leadoff of 51.09 set a new 2AA record in the 100 Yard Freestyle.

Congratulations to the Skippers on an outstanding season!