Skippers compete against Chanhassen / Chaska in season opener

Skippers compete against Chanhassen / Chaska in season opener

Click here for full results

Minnetonka hosted Chanhassen/Chaska (CHNS) in their season opening dual, on Friday, January 15 at the Minnetonka Aquatic Center. The two teams traded the lead throughout the meet, with the final team lead switch in the last race as Chanhassen/Chaska won 97-89.

The Skippers had an early lead as their relay teams placed first and third. Ben Binder, Knute Wargin, Carson Witte and Ben Keller won the 200 Yard Medley Relay swimming 1:38.62. Ryan McGuirk, Gus Johanson, Jayanth Kurup, and Xander Hawks were third with a time of 1:43.89. The “D” relay of Luke Edwards, Sean Studenski, Graham Muench, and JJ Ose swam 1:46.47 in exhibition.

In the 200 Yard Freestyle, Jacob Guggisberg swam 1:51.21 for third place, followed by Henry Rosenhagen swimming 1:52.33 for fourth place. Ryan Diede was sixth swimming 1:54.59, while Leo Rosenhagen swam 1:56.04 in exhibition.

Binder won the 200 Yard IM swimming 2:00.16. McGuirk was third swimming 2:01.53, while Johanson was fourth swimming 1:06.71. Edwards swam 2:13.41 in exhibition.

Keller led the Skippers in the 50 Yard Freestyle with a third-place finish in 22.59. Andres Mallea was fifth swimming 23.29, while Hawks was sixth in 23.58 and Evan Witte swam 23.84 in exhibition.

Minnetonka swept the top three spots in diving, with Oliver Poitevent winning with 236.65 points. Andrew Bussmann was second with 206.90 points, and Trey Maroney third with 180.80 points.

Carson Witte placed second in the 100 Yard Butterfly, with his time of 53.11 just .01 ahead of third-place finisher Henry Rosenhagen. William Poey was sixth swimming 58.15. Kurup swam 57.29 in exhibition.

In the 100 Yard Freestyle, Binder, Mallea and Hawks placed third through fifth, swimming 48.91, 51.13 and 51.16 respectively. Diede swam 51.58 in exhibition.

Wargin won the 500 Yard Freestyle swimming 4:56.04. Guggisberg was fourth swimming 5:09.81, while Max Louie swam 5:20.91 in exhibition. 

The Skippers earned points in the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay as Binder, Hawks, Mallea and Carson Witte swam 1:30.83 for third place. Henry Rosenhagen, Diede, Evan Witte and Guggisberg were fourth swimming 1:36.89, while Poey, Carter Lawin, William Anderson and Louis swam 1:38.62 for fifth place.

Keller, McGuirk and Edwards placed third through fifth in the 100 Yard Backstroke, swimming 55.30, 55.94, and 58.85. Lawin swam 1:00.59 in exhibition.

Witte won the 100 Yard Breaststroke with a time of 1:00.57, just ahead of Wargin swimming 1:00.71 for second place. Cole Mizutani was third swimming 1:03.27, while Johanson swam 1:05.66 in exhibition.

In the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay, Minnetonka’s relay of Keller, Guggisberg, Henry Rosenhagen and McGuirk were third with a time of 3:24.45. Mallea, Diede, Johanson, and Wargin swam 3:27.47 for fourth place, while Leo Rosenhagen, Ose, Poey and Noah Fu were fifth swimming 3:36.37. Edwards, Muench, Studenski and Mizutani swam 3:40.45 in exhibition.

Minnetonka faces St. Michael-Albertville on Thursday, January 21 at the Minnetonka Aquatic Center.