Skippers celebrate Senior Recognition with a win in the pool

Skippers celebrate Senior Recognition with a win in the pool

Click here for full results

On Tuesday, February 9 the Skippers headed to the Minnetonka Aquatics Center to dual Orono-Mound-Westonka and to recognize athletes in the senior year. They started the evening’s celebration with a 103-78 win.

Carter Lawin, Knute Wargin, Graham Muench and Gus Johanson swam 1:43.52 to place second in the opening 200 Yard Medley Relay. The brothers’ relay team of Carson and Evan Witte and Henry and Leo Rosenhagen swam 1:38.00 for third place. Nolan Trinh, Ryan Diede, Myonghai Choi and Jacob Guggisberg were fourth swimming 1:46.90.

Carson Witte led the field in the 200 Yard Freestyle, winning with a time of 1:49.85. Andres Mallea was second swimming 1:54.26, followed by Luke Edwards in third with a time of 1:56.67. Sean Studenski swam 2:02.41 in exhibition.

In the 200 Yard IM, Henry Rosenhagen placed second swimming 2:00.74. Guggisberg was third swimming 2:07.41, and Leo Rosenhagen’s time of 2:10.18 earned points in fourth place. In exhibition, Ryan Fries swam 2:15.11.

Ben Binder was the only sub-23 second swimmer in the 50 Yard Freestyle, winning in 22.53. Jayanth Kurup was fourth with a time of 23.62, just ahead of Xander Hawks in fifth place swimming 23.69. Cole Mizutani swam 24.54 in exhibition.

Oliver Poitevent won diving with 265.30 points, setting a personal best point total for six dives. Andrew Bussmann was second with 236.40 points, and Trey Maroney placed fourth with 190.15 points.

Minnetonka swept the top three spots in the 100 Yard Butterfly, led by Ryan McGuirk winning in 56.00. Wargin was second swimming 56.31, and William Poey third with a time of 56.49. Ben Keller swam 58.31 in exhibition.

Guggisberg swam 51.13 in the 100 Yard Freestyle for second place. Drew Eichhorn was fifth swimming 52.48, and Studenski sixth swimming 55.07. Daniel Shelstad’s time of 52.98 was swum in exhibition.

Johanson won the 500 Yard Freestyle swimming 5:07.39. Max Louie was third swimming 5:15.64, and Fries fourth with a time of 5:26.17.

The Skippers took the top two spots in the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay. The “Ben” and “Ryan” relay won  as Binder, Diede, McGuirk and Keller touched the wall first in 1:31.33. Guggisberg, Mallea, Jayanth Kurup and Edwards were second swimming 1:34.44. Hawks, Eichhorn, Mizutani and Vikranth Kurup placed fourth swimming 1:38.77. In the preceding JV event, the Skippers had a special treat as Maroney, Chase Garcia, Bussmann and Poitevent combined for a “divers” relay.

Carson Witte, Henry Rosenhagen, and Lawin claimed first, second and third in the 100 Yard Backstroke, swimming 57.06, 58.92, and 1:00.38 respectively. Leo Rosenhagen swam 1:02.48 in exhibition.

The Skippers swam the rest of the meet in exhibition.

McGuirk was second to the wall in the 100 Yard Breaststroke, swimming 1:03.55. Diede was fourth with a time of 1:09.95, followed by Isaac McFall who swam 1:10.28. Edwards finished in 1:12.02.

Minnetonka finished the meet swimming 8, 9, 10 and 11th grade JV relays in the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay, and three teams of 12th graders in the varsity event. The team of Keller, Hawks, Mallea and Mizutani swam 3:24.56, followed by Wargin, Binder, Studenski, and Johanson in 3:25.30. Trinh, divers Bussmann and Poitevent, and Jayanth Kurup finished in 3:59.86. 

Minnetonka travels to Hopkins on Friday, February 12 for their next meet.