Minnetonka wins at Hopkins

Minnetonka wins at Hopkins

Click here for full results

Minnetonka competed against Hopkins on Friday, February 12, 2021 at the Hopkins pool, scoring a victory, 111 to 73.

In the opening 200 Yard Medley Relay, Minnetonka captured the top three spots with Ben Binder, Henry Rosenhagen, Myonghai Choi and Graham Muench winning with a time of 1:44.07. Ben Keller, Ryan McGuirk, Jayanth Kurup and Carter Lawin placed second swimming 1:44.85, and Luke Edwards, Gus Johanson, Leo Rosenhagen and JJ Ose following in 1:50.13 for third place. 

McGuirk led the scoring in the 200 Yard Freestyle, touching the wall first in 1:50.01. Evan Witte placed third swimming 1:57.98, and Xander Hawks fifth swimming 2:00.75.

In the 200 Yard IM, Keller took first place with a time of 2:04.02. Ryan Diede was second swimming 2:08.90, and Andres Mallea third with his time of 2:13.85.

A time of 22.75 gave Knute Wargin the win in the 50 Yard Freestyle. Jacob Guggisberg was third swimming 23.80, and Ryan Fries sixth, finishing in 24.95. 

In diving, Oliver Poitevent placed second with 244.85 points. Andrew Bussmann was fourth with 206.00 points, and Trey Maroney fifth, scoring with 205.15 points.

Max Louie scored first for the Skippers in the 100 Yard Butterfly, swimming 58.28 for second place. Edwards placed third swimming 58.61, and Kurup was fourth with a time of 59.23.

In the 100 Yard Freestyle, Carson Witte placed second swimming 50.14. Henry Rosenhagen was fourth swimming 52.20, and Johanson sixth with a time of 53.80.

Wargin claimed a second personal victory in the 500 Yard Freestyle, finishing in 4:51.20. Binder was second swimming 5:11.04, and Ose fourth swimming 5:38.49.

The Skippers swept the top three spots in the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay. Diede, Keller, William Poey and Binder combined for 1:33.02 and the win. Henry Rosenhagen, McGuirk, Johanson and Wargin were second swimming 1:34.20, just ahead of the third-place team swum by Hawks, Edwards, Mallea and Guggisberg in 1:34.63.

In the 100 Yard Backstroke, Evan Witte placed second swimming 59.21, followed by Lawin placing third with a time of 1:0015. Nolan Trinh’s time of 1:01.47 put him in fifth place.

Guggisberg won the 100 Yard Breaststroke swimming 1:06.25, just ahead of second place finisher Sean Studenski, who swam 1:06.73. Leo Rosenhagen placed third swimming 1:07.94.

Minnetonka swam the 400 Yard Relay in exhibition. Died, Graham, Evan Witte and Louie were the fastest team for the Skippers, swimming 3:24.00. Mallea, Lawin, Drew Eichhorn and Leo Rosenhagen swam 3:33.11, and Studenski, Cole Mizutani, Kurup and Hawks finished in 3:42.07.

Minnetonka hosts Edina on Thursday, February 18 at the Minnetonka Aquatics Center.