Skippers 4th at State

Skippers 4th at State

Click here for full results

Minnetonka competed in a total of 17 events at the state meet on Thursday, March 18 and Friday, March 19. The meet was held at the University of Minnesota Natatorium. Minnetonka placed 4th in a field of 41 teams competing.

The Skippers opened with a fifth-place finish in the 200 Yard Medley Relay as Ryan McGuirk, Knute Wargin, Carson Witte and Ben Keller lowered their entry time by .18, finishing in 1:35.12.  

Ben Binder dropped more than a second from his seed time in the 200 Yard IM to place third with an All American Consideration (AAC) time of 1:51.00. McGuirk swam 1:55.93 to place fourteenth.

In diving, Oliver Poitevent scored 347.40 to place 11th and Andrew Bussmann earned 280.55 points for 16th place.

Witte made the podium in the 100 Yard Butterfly in 6th place, swimming an AAC time of 49.92. Henry Rosenhagen swam 51.02, scoring points in thirteenth place. Binder tied for eighteenth place with a time of 51.22. Chris Morris of St. Cloud Tech’s winning time of 48.11 erased a 28-year old state record.

Keller dropped half a second in the 100 Yard Freestyle from his seed, swimming 47.18 for eleventh place.

Wargin swam 4:39.86 in the 500 Yard Freestyle, placing eighth. 

Binder, Witte, Xander Hawks and Andres Mallea’s time of 1:26.57 in the 200 Freestyle Relay earned a seventh-place finish for the Skippers. A new state record was set in the event by Chanhassen-Chaska.

In the 100 Yard Backstroke, McGuirk and Keller swam 52.49 and 52.53 for twelfth and thirteenth places.

Witte swam 56.03—his second AAC time—in the 100 Yard Breaststroke, earning third place. Wargen placed twelfth swimming 57.80, while Cole Mizutani’s time of 59.58 earned fifteenth place. 

Binder, McGuirk, Keller and Hawks swam 3:10.48, giving the Skippers seventh place in the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay and 4th place in the meet.

All-State honors are earned by athletes finishing in the top 8. Seven Skippers with this honor include: Ben Binder, Xander Hawks, Ben Keller, Andres Mallea, Ryan McGuirk, Knute Wargin, and Carson Witte.

Congratulations on an outstanding season!