NE Swimming Partners
New England takes 3rd at the Eastern Zone Meet!

                Fielding one of the largest teams in New England Swimming's Eastern Zone history certainly paid off with a 3rd place finish!  The team placed behind Potomac Valley and Virginia Swimming, and managed to pull ahead of Mid Atlantic to beat them by  14.5 points.  Our Boy's team placed 3rd and the Girl's team placed 5th.

                Strong relays were a big reason for the 3rd place finish, as New England relays were placing in the top 6 for almost every age category. However, the distance events are where we were the strongest,  with 4 boys placing in the top 4 spots in both the 800 and 1500 15-18 year old Freestyles! Drew Ledwith (GMSC), Matt Tynan (PSC), Max Fabian (GMSC) and Adrien Hosking (GMSC) all placed, but Drew took first place and the meet record in both events. Matt Tynan, from Patriot Swim Club, won the 200 freestyle, and then won, and earned his own meet record in the 400 freestyle event!

Julian Solon Asuaje (Charles River Aquatics)  won the Boy's 13-14 200 and 1500 freestyles. Marie Chamberlain (CCYM) won the Girl's 13-14 50 freestyle with Kyra Sarazen (EST) in close second!

Rachel Bradford-Feldman (GMA) won the Girl's 13-14 200 IM and Andy Disco (HHS) won the Boy's 15-18 100 Backstroke!  To finish off the meet, and the first place finishes, was the Boy's 15-18 400 Medley relay of Andy Disco (HHS), An Truong (CRIM), Matt Tynan (PSC) and Cole Hogg (MST) who swam to a great finish in 4:08.65!


                    In the OPEN WATER ZONE competition, two swimmers from Greenwood Memorial  Swim Club managed to validate New England's great reputation for fast Open Water swimming!  Kylie Mitchell WON the Girl's 11-12 2K open water event, and Brandon Jinn came in 4th in the 13-14 Boy's 2 K! 


                A special thanks to the Zone Team's Head Coach, Sherry Wingfield, of Northampton Area Swimming for pulling together such an impressive team and for organizing a memorable trip for all of the swimmers that participated. Her contagious energy, and the countless hours she spent organizing,  certainly showed in the performances of the entire team. Thank you, also, to the assistant coaches who devoted time and energy into creating a wonderful experience for the New England Eastern Zone Team:

 Jamie Bloom (WYST)

Wayne Brusseau (KCY)

Alexandra Doty  (PSC)

Kerry Johnson (YNS)

Michael Ross (ABF)

Chris Sheppard (CRA)

JJ Sabatino (UN)

Timothy Thompson (HHS)

Katie Allenson (GMSC)



Full results and Individual/Team scores can be found at this LINK.