CONGRATS!! CT Swimming Top 16 and Scholar Athletes


Forty-one swimmers who swam with WHAT swimming during all or part of the 2016-2017 swim year were named at TOP 16 Connecticut Swimmers.  They include:

TOP 16 (41)

  • Jaee  Raut
  • Victoria  Layden
  • Ruthie  Riccobon
  • Molly  Nordquist
  • Ved  Bathula
  • Caroline Gray
  • Taylor  Demarest
  • Lucy Benoit
  • Nicholas  Menendez
  • Charles Perks
  • Mikel  Palaj
  • Owen Brown
  • Kate Bell
  • Emma  Nordquist
  • Amber  Rocheleau
  • Sophie  Rodner
  • Marissa Chow
  • Kyle Brown
  • Jake Nelson
  • Ethan Brown
  • Will  Layden
  • Colton  Litwinczyk
  • Kayla Brown
  • Abigail Thrall
  • Michael  Baldini
  • John Gallant
  • Nicole King
  • Brian Berry
  • Cassandra  Apuzzo
  • Victoria  Apuzzo
  • Lucy Benoit
  • Daniel Butler
  • Connor  Dainiak
  • Katelin  Isakoff
  • Maggie Mancini
  • Griffin McGowan
  • Erika Nguyen
  • Sydney Perks
  • Katharine Pillion
  • Sarah  Preleski
  • Drew  Spero

Each of the above listed swimmers has been invited to the Connecticut Swimming Awards Banquet on November 5, 2017 at the Aqua Turf Club.  The Awards Banquet is held to recognize swimmers for achieving a Top 16 time in an individual event or open water swim for each age group from a meet  during the 2016-2017 Short Course season and the 2017 Long Course season.



The Awards Banquet also recognizes Connecticut Swimming Athletes.  For the 2016-2017 season, eight WHAT Swimmers have been named as Scholar Athletes.  They are:

  • Michael  Baldini
  • Kayla Brown
  • Bailey  Edgren
  • John Gallant
  • Katelin  Isakoff
  • Nicole King
  • Sydney Perks
  • Abigail Thrall

 To be eligible to be a scholar athlete a swimmer must be in  10th11th or  12th grade, have a minimum G.P.A. of 3.5 and have swum at the 2016 Long Course Championships, the 2016-2017 Short Course Senior Championships or two regular meets in the 2016 Long Course Season and 3 regular season meets in the 2016-2017 Long Course Season.