WGB Club Awards for 2017-2018

WGB Club Awards for 2017-2018 season        


All of these awards have been chosen by the Coach or Coaches of that squad, and cover the period from June last year to May this year.

NOTE:  for those swimmers that were not able to attend our year-end bbq to accept their awards in person, please visit the front desk area of Sport Yukon at 4061 - 4th Avenue Mon-Friday (8:30am-4:30 pm) to pick up your awards at your earliest convenience.


Teddy Bears - Coach Shereen Hill

Kelly Patrick Spirit Award: Most Enthusiastic: River Powell and William Sugden            


Rookie of the Year - Awarded to a first-year swimmer with the greatest potential or improvement – chosen by the Head Coach in consultation with the other coaches - Victoria Watson


Cubs:  Coaches Taylor Harvey & Rebecca Koser

Cubs 1 Most Improved marked improvement in swimming ability and attitude - Emma Geier

Cubs 1 Leadership -  Ella Germain

Cubs 2 Most Improved marked improvement in swimming ability and attitude - Hanna Ryan

Cubs 2 Leadership - John Chisholm


Teen squad: Coach Shereen Hill

Teen Most Improved - Kushi Brar

Teen Leadership - Naomi Dedon


Brown Bears - Coaches Matthew Blakesley & Julia Veidt

Brown Bears Most Improved marked imporvement in swimming abililty and attitude: Sophie Gendron

Brown Bears Leadership - Oliver Cull


Black Bears - Coach Malwina Bukszowana

Black Bears  Most Improved –  Breanna Faulkner

Black Bears  Leadership –  Lydia Brown


Polar Bears - Coaches Bronwyn Pasloski & Julia Veidt

Polar Bears Most Improved- Jayden Martsinkiw

Polar Bears Leadership – Alexa Mannen


Kodiaks - Coaches Malwina Bukszowana, Julia Veidt & Corey Bradbury

Kodiaks Most Improved- Thomas Gishler

Kodiaks Leadership- Amelia Ford


Silvertips - Coaches Malwina Bukszowana, Julia Veidt & Corey Bradbury

SilverTips Most Improved: Alex Petriw

SilverTips Leadership - Cassis Lindsay


Major Awards


Ryan Downing Award 200IM Improvement 2017-18: for most improvement in 200m IM for a male and a female.  Recipients are determined based on times used from the Yukon Invitational Championship meet the year before to the Yukon Invitational Championship of the current year. This award is given in memory of Ryan Downing (former Whitehorse Glacier Bear) whose favorite event was the 200m IM.

Girls: Alexa Mannen: 3:47.40 in 2017 & 3:16.67 in 2018. An improvement of 30.73 seconds.

Boys: Thomas Gishler: 2:57.11 in 2017 & 2:41.47 in 2018. An improvement of 15.64 seconds.


WGB Swimmer of the Year: the male swimmer having attended the Canada Summer Games July 2017 and broke 6 long-course club records & placed 15th in 1500 m Free & 19th in 800 m Free- Alex Petriw 

WGB Swimmer of the Year: the female swimmer having attended the Canada Summer Games July 2017 and placed 15th in 100 m Fly & 19th in 50 m Backstroke event finals - Hannah Kingscote

WGB Swimmer of the Year: the swimmer who attended the highest level of competition - Canadian National Age Group Championships July 2017- Rennes Lindsay



Grade 12 Graduate heading to a University Swim Team: Cassis Lindsay to McMaster University. Her photo makes our photo wall in the trophy cabinet at the CGC.