Background-image
Mini Fins - Non-Competitive

Mini-Fins

It is with great pride that the Halton Hills Blue Fins continue to offer our introductory Mini-Fins Program.

This once per week 30 minute program is based on Swimming Canada's Long Term Athlete Development Plan (LTAD) Active Start 1.  It is designed specifically for swimmers who are looking to build their swimming self-confidence, and their love of sport, in a fun, but structured environment.  The goal is to introduce competitive swimming skills and build a love for the water.

Swimmers will be assessed and paired with one of our Volunteer Blue Fin Coaches who will use a graduated introduction to basic skills customized to the swimmers ability and comfort level.  Mini-Fins will progress from shallow water swimming using flotation aids, to deep water swimming using basic swimming strokes.  Mini-Fins will also progress from jump entries from the side of the pool to using the blocks to dive into the pool. 

The Mini-Fins will receive a report card with the progress they have achieved on the following skills:

  • Rhythmic Breathing
  • Front and Back Floats
  • Front Flutter Kick (25 m)
  • Front Glide and Side Glide (15 m)
  • Back Glide (25 m)
  • Freestyle (25 m)
  • Backstroke (25 m)
  • Breaststroke Kick (25 m)
  • Dolphin Kick (5m)
  • Dive (sitting, kneeling, standing)

 

Mini-Fins Program Details

Mini-Fins Dates

There are 26 training sessions from September - May.

Tentative Training Schedule** SUBJECT TO CHANGE**:

Saturday September 14
Saturday September 21
Saturday September 28
Saturday October 5
Saturday October 12
Saturday October 19
Saturday October 26 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday November 2
Saturday November 9
Saturday November 16
Saturday November 23
Saturday November 30 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday December 7 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday December 14
Saturday December 21 MINI-FINS Swim Meet #1!!! 
Saturday December 28 - No Swimming Due to Winter Break
Saturday January 4 - No Swimming Due to Winter Break
Saturday January 11 
Saturday January 18 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday January 25
Saturday February 1
Saturday February 8 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday February 15
Saturday February 22 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday Februray 29
Saturday March 7 
Saturday March 14 - No Swimming Due to Spring Break
Saturday March 21 - No Swimming Due to Spring Break
Saturday March 28
Saturday April 4
Saturday April 11
Saturday April 18
Saturday April 25 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday May 2
Saturday May 9 - No Swimming Due to SNR Swim Meet
Saturday May 16
Saturday May 23
Saturday May 30 MINI-FINS Swim Meet #2!!!
 

Mini-Fins Times?

Saturday - Mini Fins A (12:00 pm to 12:30 pm)

Saturday - Mini Fins B (12:30 pm to 1:00 pm) 

Saturday - Mini Fins C (1:00 pm to 1:30 pm) 

Mini-Fins Cost?

$475 for the year (26 sessions), broken into 10 equal payments of $47.50 billed monthly August 1 to May 1.

There is also a non-refundable Annual Swim Ontario registration fee of approximately $52.55 for the swimming season.

What should I bring to the pool

A swim suit, a towel, swim goggles and lots of enthusiasm is all that is required.  If you have long hair a swim cap is recommended.

Can parents watch on deck?

We have a no parents on deck policy. Parents can watch from our viewing area.  If there is a problem, one of our coaches will come and get you to help on deck.

 
HHBF Sponsors
Pinnacle+Construction
Dr.+Iain+Meldrum+Orthodontist
Move+Activity+and+Motion
Royal+Lepage+-+Lisa+Hartsink
StateFarm+%3F+Mike+Francis
Scotia+Bank+-+Barb+Legere
Pita+Pit
The+Optimist+Club+of+Halton+Hills
Funded+by+the+Government+of+Ontario