Time Standards

2019-2020 BC Time Standards

Click here for the: 2019-2020 Swim BC Time Standards (updated January 2020)


Explaining the BC Time Standards

There was a major overhaul of the time standards for BC in 2017-18 season.

In summary:
Age Group Standards
- only for 12 & under females and 13 & under males; 13 & over females and 14 & over males are ineligible for Age Group Champs
- all swimmers must qualify for the 200 IM in their respective age category
- they must qualify for 1 other event under the Age Group standard
- at the competition, they can swim up to 8 events
- finals only for 200 IM and typically 200 Free
BC Championships (previously Provincial Standards)
- for all 18 & under swimmers
- at the BC Championships, swimmers will compete in what they qualify for (ie. if they qualify for 1 event, they may swim in 1 event; if they qualify for 4 events, they may swim 4 events; no bonus events)
- heats and finals for all events
- younger swimmers that qualify for BC Championship events may compete (in addition to Age Group Championships if they qualify for Age Group)