Golden Peach Awards

Golden Peach Awards

April 22, 2018

The Garage at Tech Square

848 Spring St NW, Atlanta, GA 30308
$30 per person

Join us for an afternoon of photo booth fun, delicious bar-b-q from Twin Smokers BBQ, and awards as we recognize members of Georgia Swimming for their achievements. USA Swimming National Team Member Michael Chadwick will be joining us as our guest speaker and presenter in addition to Andrew Wilson.

Click to purchase tickets to the Golden Peach Awards (purchase before April 22)
Directions to The Garage

Awards being presented include:

  • Breakout Performer of the Year
    • This award is given to an athlete whose performance(s) stand out in relation to other years. 
  • Perseverance Award
    • This award is given to the athlete who came back from adversity, retirement, sickness, injury, etc., to have an outstanding performance in the last year. 
  • Relay Performance of the Year
    • This award is given to the best team relay performance, male or female. 
  • Adaptive Athlete of the Year
    • This award is given to an athlete with a physical and/or intellectual impairment who has succeeded in the pool. 
  • Emerging Coach Award
    • This award is given to a coach who has been coaching in the Georgia Swimming LSC for five (5) years or less and embodies the spirit of the coaching role. 
  • Female Athlete of the Year*
  • Male Athlete of the Year*
  • Betsy Dunbar Award
  • Bill Young Award
  • Pete Junkins Award

 *The 2017 Top 3 performing females and males from Age Group (14 and under) and the Top 3 performing females and males for Senior (15 and over) based on last season's competition data will be on the ballot for voting. Nominations are not being taken for this category.

Nominations open February 16 and will be accepted through March 15. All nominations will be verified and approved by the Award Committee before the next round of voting. Six (6) finalists will appear on the final ballot March 19-23. Popular vote will be taken into consideration by the Award Committee but will not determine final award winners. Winners will be announced at the Golden Peach Awards on April 22.

The 2017 Georgia Zone Team, 2017 All-Stars, 2016-2017 Record Breakers, and 2017 Coaches of the Year will also receive recognition, if in attendance. 

Read about the 1st Annual Golden Peach Awards

Read about the 2nd Annual Golden Peach Awards