History & Alumni

North Carolina Aquatic Club has a proud tradition of excellence that dates back to its founding in 1986 by UNC Head Coach Frank Comfort.  Now at the beginning of its third decade of existence, NCAC has consistently developed first-class athletes and citizens who achieved at the highest levels of competitive and personal excellence.

Our winning tradition includes individual and relay state champions at high-point winners at every level of competition from local to national meets.  NCAC swimmers have qualified for the U.S. Olympic Trials every year since 1992 and set countless National, Regional, and State records. 

On the state level, NCAC swimmers have been awarded Swimmer-of-the-Year and Age Group Swimmer-of-the-Year by North Carolina Swimming on multiple occasions.  Nationally, USA Swimming has awarded NCAC Silver Medal status, its second-highest recognition awarded to a club, every year since 2005.

On swimming's international stage, we have placed athletes at the World University Games, Pan Pacific Games, Pan American Games, and the USA National Team and Junior National Teams.  Headed into the 2021 Olympic year, we have four swimmers qualified for the Olympic Trials.

The current team looks to continue our tradition and build on the foundation of success that we have already achieved!

We are very proud of our NCAC seniors and wish them well in the next chapter of their lives!  They of course know that they will always have a home here at NCAC.  Best of luck NCAC alumni we will be cheering for you!

NCAC Class of 2016

Alex Bird- Washington University in St. Louis

Paris Buedel- Univeristy of Colorado- Boulder

Josh Conger- St. Cloud state University

Claire DeSelm- University of Notre Dame

Simon DeShusses- Washington University in St. Louis

CJ Eron- University of Tampa

Katie Godlewski- St. Bonaventure University

Paige Jones- University of North Carolina

Abigail Lloyd- University of North Carolina

Will Macmillan- Stanford University

Mia Morrell- Emory University

Sarah Taekman- Case Western Reserve University

Shreyas Pyati- University of North Carolina

Hannah Regen- Durham Technical Community College

Takoda Ren- University of North Carolina

Eli Rose- Case Western Reserve University

NCAC Class of 2015
Tommy Baric- Alamance Community College
Tom Bilden- University of North Carolina
Noah Cairns- University of North Carolina
Elizabeth Conte- University of North Carolina-Asheville
Anabelle Durham- Davidson College
Nathan Greeley- Boston College
Julie Hu- University of Connecticut
Ryan Mathes- Colgate University
Rory O'Dell- St. Francis University
Annie Padgett- University of Tennessee
Patrick O'Donnell- Case Western Reserve University
Jake Pudik- Wright State University
Jon Roach- East Carolina University
Ian Sale- Lees-McRae College
Elle Tucker- New York University
Michael Wohl- Johns Hopkins University
Bijan Zakerin- University of North Carolina
Eric Zhou- University of North Carolina


NCAC Class of 2014
Kaitlin Jones- Johns Hopkins University
Emily McDaniels-Vassar College
Rachel Samuelson- Randolph-Macon College
Stephen Young- University of North Carolina-Charlotte

NCAC Class of 2013
Jake Barnes- Appalachian State University
Michael Lin- University of North Carolina
Justin Morrell- Washington University in St. Louis
Sam Strosnider- Denision University


NCAC Class of 2012
Will Clinton- Trinity University
Alexa Mendes- Duke University
Katie Furey- University of North Carolina
Sophie Gan- Washington University in St. Louis
Chris Gondek- University of North Carolina
Reagan Padgett- Radford University
Sam Ray- Duquesne University
Lydia Renn- College of Charleston
Christina Zhou- University of North Carolina


NCAC Class of 2011
George Beatty- Bucknell University
Ashley Cairns- UNC-Chapel Hill
Megan Cusick- University of Delaware
Adam Fullerton- NC State University
Zoe Gan- University of Pennsylvania
Matt Lee- Brown
Mackenzie Robinson- Davidson
Jocelyn Tisch- Clemson
David Williams- NC State University
Michelle York- Emory

NCAC Class of 2010
Michael Baric - UNC Wilmington
Luke Hoffer - United States Naval Academy
Heath Hudgins- Case Western Reserve
Bryce Mendes - University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Evan Renn- College Of Charleston
Emily Tysinger- Kenyon College

NCAC Class of 2009
Ken Ryan - Georgetown University
Carly Smith - University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Kristina Witcher - Oberlin College

NCAC Class of 2008
Aidan Akkari - UNC - Wilmington
Kate Brynildsen - Grinnell College
Alden Dyer - UNC - Wilmington
Wes Foltz - Towson University
Kerry McLaughlin - Clemson University
Jesse Mendes - University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Ben Murphy - Wingate University

NCAC Class of 2007
Jack Hill - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Marc Clinton - Connecticut College

NCAC Class of 2006
Jeff James - University of North Carolina
Michelle Baric - University of North Carolina - Wilmington
Sarah Stankavage - University of North Carolina
Anna Tommerdahl - University of North Carolina - Wilmington

NCAC Class of 2004
Christina Baric University of North Carolina - Wilmington

NCAC Class of 2003
Britton Banning-Arndt - University of North Carolina
Taylor Emerson - Tulane University
Adam Ulrich - Denison

NCAC Class of 2002
Kendall Smith - North Carolina State University
Allison Herman - University of North Carolina
Timothy Liebhold - University of Wisconsin
Kristy Ulrich - Xavier
Leigh Campbell - Emory

NCAC Class of 2001
Meredith Green - University of Florida