AWARDS & recognitions


yesThe YMCA of the USA Swimming & Diving's Outstanding Athlete Award recognizes one male and one female for their excellence in academic achievement and commitment to healthy living and social responsibility through YMCA competitive swimming at SCY National Championship

Applicants Should Meet the Following Criteria

  • A graduating senior and be a YMCA swimmer for five years.

  • Competed in the YMCA Short Course National Championships for three years.

  • Maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 or equivalent scale during senior year in

    high school.

  • Have plans to continue education at an accredited university or college.

  • Compete at the YMCA Short Course National Championship in his/her senior year and be present

    to accept the award. 

SPY's Swimmers awarded Outstanding Athlete Award

  1. Katie McHugh
  2. Marcus Geer

Great Lakes Y Zone Championship's

Outstanding Swimmer“Atkinson Scholarship Award”

This Award was established in 1991 by the Great Lakes Zone Swimming Committee to honor Paul Atkinson for his dedicated leadership in establishing this YMCA competitive aquatic program. During his career with the Young Men’s Christian Association of 35 years he devoted over 30 of those years developing and promoting our Great Lakes Zone Championship, as we know it today.  The intent of this award is to recognize a talented male and female from our Zone who has represented their YMCA with distinction. These individuals have been outstanding competitive swimmers and contributors to their YMCA, as well as being good students, active in the church and community, and all-around good citizens. These awards are presented each year at the Zone Championship Meet based on the nominations submitted by a YMCA Swim Coach, YMCA Aquatic Director, President of a YMCA Parents’ Club or a YMCA Executive Director.

SPY's Swimmers awarded Zones' Outstanding Swimmer Award

  1. Jeff Bell
  2. Marcus Geer
  3. Courtney Speakman

Southwest Ohio Y Swim League's Hall of Fame's Recipient

  • Dave Johnson as Head Coach 1996
  • John Bishop as Athlete/Coach 2003
  • Molly Keriazes as Official 2014
  • Mickey McNeil as Coach 2016
  • Margo Geer as Athlete 2017

Southwest Ohio Y Swim League's Coach of the Year

  • Dave Johnson 2006
  • John Bishop 2000, 2016
  • Bruce Patmos 2007
  • Mickey McNeil 2002, 2010, 2011