Background-image
Learn to Swim

Learn to Swim Program 

Learn to Swim is perfect for anyone who is just getting started in the water. In this group, emerging swimmers learn to get comfortable in the water and begin the very basics of swimming. This program builds comfort in the water and fun relationships for our new swimmers.

Learn to Swim will hold two 2-week sessions that consist of six 30 minute group lessons.  

  • Two different levels of instruction will be available to choose from (see bottom of page). 
  • Lessons will take place Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays at 11 or 11:30, depending on your child’s placement. 
  • The cost for each two week session (6 classes) is $60 per participant.  

 

SESSION 1 July 2-July 12 ($60): Monday July 2, Tuesday July 3, Thursday July 5, Monday July 9, Tuesday July 10, Thursday July 12 (no individual make ups)

  • Beginner—Water Exploration: 11:00-11:30

                                   OR

  • Intermediate—Primary Skills: 11:30-12

Click Here to Register Online for Session 1

 

SESSION 2 July 9-July 19 ($60): Monday July 16, Tuesday July 17, Thursday July 19, Monday July 23, Tuesday July 24, Thursday July 26​ (no individual make ups)

  • Beginner—Water Exploration: 11:00-11:30

                                 OR

  • Intermediate—Primary Skills: 11:30-12

 

​See class descriptions below to select the program that is right for your child*:

11-11:30 Beginner: Water ExplorationClass is intended for children with little to no water experience. Helps children adjust to the water and develop independent movement.  Addresses basic skills including: blowing bubbles, floating on your stomach, floating on your back with assistance, climbing out of the pool from the wall,  kicking, putting your face in the water, and beginner arm rotation.
 
11:30-12 Intermediate: Primary Skills: For children who are comfortable in the water and can move through the water in a horizontal position. Children must be able to put their face in voluntarily.  Lessons focus on floating on your stomach and your back, climbing out of the pool from the wall, kicking, performing progressive arm movements across the pool, and some basic rotary breathing. 
 
*Instructors will discuss with you if they feel the chosen placement is incorrect. 

Questions? Email Jennifer Stever and Jessica Semar at LearntoSwim@OldOrchardSwimClub.com