CRUZ Partners
Time Standards
Time standards are vital for swimmers. The standards give us all goals to aim for, which is one the best tools we learn to use in swimming. This element of swimming is developed and sustained through involvement in swim meets. All swimmers start with "NT" (no time). As they attend meets they will achieve times in standardized events. Each of these events has a list of Time-Standards based on percentile ranking with all other swimmers. Swimmer must achieve a time equal-to or faster-than the designated standard. Swimmers are able to jump past standards by achieving a higher standard.
The 1st step on this ladder is a "B" time. Swimmers continue to train and soon achieve "BB" times. With more commitment, work, and favorable scheduling the swimmer is soon surpasses "A" times and approaches the JO (Junior Olympic Times). Achieving the JO-Times earns the swimmer an invitation to a very select championship hosted 3 times per year. The next step is FW (Far Westerns), this standard qualifies the swimmer for an even more select meet attracting swimmers from many parts of the US, Canada, Mexico, and overseas.
CRUZ 8 & Under Time Standards
(very similar to Pacific B/A/JO standards except they are White/Red/Blue and are specifically for 8 & youngers)
(these are the 'new' time standards, they will only be updated on Olympic years)
(these are based on a 5% deviation from the Far West standards and updated annually in September)
(these are based on prior years results and are updated every September)
PACIFIC  Senior Time Standards
(these are for any swimmer who can achieve the times posted regardless of age)
2016 Olympic Trials Qualifying Times
(these are updated every 4 years. swimmer must meet the time long course. open to any swimmer who can achieve the times posted regardless of age)