Wisconsin Swimming, Inc. House of Delegates Meeting June 24, 2008 Page One of Three

General Chair Drew Walden called the meeting to order at 7:20 p.m. in Room C101 at UW-Waukesha. Jacob Johnson moved with a second by Dave Westfahl to accept the minutes of the April 22, 2008 meeting with corrections. (See REVISED.lsc.HOD.4.22.08)

Pat Lewno gave a Treasurer's Report. Written copies of the report were available at the sign-in table. Pat noted that the LSC received a refund check from Schroeder for funds received for the past year's state meet that was not used. Pat noted that surcharge funds were still in the checking account earning interest and will be moved to the Travel Fund when needed.

Jeanne Drzewiecki, Administrative Chair, reviewed the 2009 Winter Short Course Meet Schedule. Jacob Johnson, representative of Badger Aquatic Club, gave a presentation regarding BAC's bid to host the 12 & Under State Championship Meet at the UW-Natatorium. Blaine Carlson, representative of Waukesha Express Swim Club, gave a presentation regarding WEST's bid to host the 12 & Under State Championship Meet at Waukesha South High School. Both Blaine and Jacob answered questions from the floor. The vote was conducted by paper ballot. BAC received the majority of votes to host the meet. (20 for BAC/15 for WEST.)

Neil Wright and Jennifer Pennings, representatives of Southeastern YMCA, spoke on behalf of SEAY's bid to host the 13 & Over State Championship Meet at Carthage College. Mark Kohnhorst, representative of Lake Country Phoenix, spoke on behalf of LAKE's bid to host the meet at Walter Schroeder Aquatic Center. Blaine Carlson, representative of Waukesha Express Swim Club, gave a presentation regarding WEST's bid to host the meet at Waukesha South High School. Questions from the floor were answered prior to a paper ballot vote. No team received a majority so another round of voting took place that resulted in WEST receiving the bid with a vote of 20 - 15. Jeanne reviewed the meet bids. Additional information was requested on the forms to be used for this season. If information is missing from a team's meet bid, please e-mail the missing information to Jeanne. Teams that did not send in their bid fees should send the fees to Pat Lewno, LSC Treasurer. The official schedule will be posted on the LSC website shortly. Meet information, if reservations will be accepted for the meet, should be submitted for sanction/approval by August 1, 2008. Meet reservations must be postmarked no earlier than September 8, 2008. Jeanne reminded meet hosts that the splash fee goes up to \$3.00, effective September 1, 2008. (This was approved at the April, 2008 LSC meeting.) Dave Anderson moved, with a second by Erin Detwiler to accept the meet schedule. The motion carried by voice vote.

Wisconsin Swimming, Inc. House of Delegates Meeting June 24, 2008 Page Two of Three

Drew then asked if there were additional nominations from the floor for the offices up for election. There were no additional nominations for Administrative Chair, Treasurer, Technical Planning, Registration Chair, and Volunteer of the Year. Jeanne Drzewiecki, Pat Lewno, Dave Westfahl, Carol Graham, and Deb Nickels were elected to their respective positions with a motion to cast a unanimous ballot for the unopposed candidates made by Jeanne Drzewiecki and seconded by Peter Healy. The motion carried by voice vote. Dave Anderson and Luke Schumm gave brief presentations regarding their qualifications to be elected to the office of Senior Chair. Dave Anderson was as elected by a vote of 19 - 16. A motion to destroy ballots was made by Erin Detwiler and seconded by Wagner da Silva. Motion carried by voice vote.

Mike Mohr, Senior athlete representative informed the body that a vote for a new representative will be done at the upcoming state meet.

Steve Keller reported the information regarding Zone Coaches.

Dave Anderson reported that the time standards for State Championship meets would need to be revisited because the upcoming short course season is the end of the fouryear cycle.

Jacob Johnson and Brett Wilson volunteered to chair the Camps Committee.

Peter Healy - Finance - no report Budget requests should be sent to Pat Lewno.

Karen Dionne reported that three athletes would swim at the Paralympics in Beijing. They are Kelly Becherer, Tom Miazga and Alex Dionne. Karen asked if the forms for disability athletes to participate at Zones. Dave Clark stated that the forms are on the website.

Luke Schumm urged more emphasis on open water swimming for swimmers 11 & older.

George, Officials Chair reported that officials would be going to an online reporting system. In the coming year, an emphasis will be on recruiting stroke & turn officials to move up to the starter/referee level.

Patty Kramer, Rules Chair, presented a proposed change to the scratch rule. This rule change will be discussed at the October 2008 LSC House of Delegates meeting. The second proposed change is regarding sanction/approval of meets.

Wisconsin Swimming, Inc. House of Delegates Meeting June 24, 2008 Page Three of Three

Patty provided preliminary information regarding the proposed Swimposium to be held on April 18, 2009. Patty requested suggestions for additional topics for the event. Please contact her with ideas of sessions that would be helpful to athletes, clubs, officials or parents.

Patty Kramer moved with a second by Pat Lewno to extend the facility charge to permit meets held at Walter Schroeder Aquatic facility to continue to charge the specified facility fee. This motion carried. A proposed amendment to allow all teams to charge this fee for the upcoming short course season failed.

General Chair Drew Walden requested volunteers for a task force to study the possibility of creating additional paid positions for the LSC. The following volunteered for the task force: Blaine Carlson, Erin Detwiler, George Geanon, Peter Healy, Steve Keller, Patty Kramer, Luke Schumm, Wagner da Silva, Dave Westfahl, and Drew Walden (chair.)

The next scheduled House of Delegates meeting will be on Tuesday, October 28. The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 p.m.

Submitted by Cathie Marty, acting Recorder

Attendance for Wisconsin Swimming, Inc. House of Delegates Meeting on June 24, 2008

Lynn Stickels - MEYO
Pat Lewno - Treasurer
Amy Baumgartner - LOO
George Geanon - Officials Chair
Peter Healy - Finance

Markie Healy - Athlete's Representative David Anderson - SSTY/Senior Chair

Cathie Marty - Safety
Karen Kiel Rosser - FRST
Patty Kramer - Rules Chair
Erin Detwiler - WRAT
Peter Zenobi - NBSC
Jon Lesko - SWFX
Brett Wilson - DFAC
Dan Rokicki - OCSC
Wagner da Silva - Coach Rep/BAC
Luke Schumm - BST

Kelly Carlson - BST
Kim Thompson - BST
Robert White - SWAT
Scott Mueller - MFSC
Steve Keller - OZ
Dave Clark - Zone Chair
Rob McCabe - SHOR
Mark Kohnhorst - LAKE
Tammy Amor - WOW
Dave Westfahl - Tech Planning
Karen Dionne - Disability Chair
Neil Wright - SEAY
Cheri Zimdars - J-HK

Miles Allie - FAST

Dennis Duchene - BST