Wisconsin Swimming House of Delegates Meeting June 23, 2009

General Chair Drew Walden called the meeting to order at 7:21 p.m. The motion to approve the minutes of the previous meeting (April 28, 2009) was made by Jeanne Drzewiecki with a second by Lynn Stickels. The motion carried.

Drew reported the preliminary planning has begun to have a meeting in April 2010

Treasurer Pat Lewno gave a Treasurer's Report. Pat was happy to report that our investment account has made some positive progress recently. Our expenses appear to be in good shape. Pat's report will be filed for compilation.

Jeanne Drzewiecki, Administrative Chair presented the tentative short course meet schedule. Brett Wilson (DFAC) asked about identifying "quality meets" in the final schedule; Jeanne agreed to do this. All meets need to be turned in to Jeanne no later than August 1, 2009 for sanction/approval. The schedule was reviewed page by page for corrections/changes. The final approved schedule will be posted online as soon as Jeanne can update it. Those voting members present at the meeting will choose the state championship meet hosts/venue. The "winner" must receive a majority of the votes.

Jacob Johnson spoke on behalf of BAC's bid for the 12 & Under State Meet. Laurie Carlson spoke on behalf of WEST's bid. Registration Chair Carol Graham distributed ballots to eligible voting members. BAC won the vote 29 with 11 votes for WEST. A motion was made by George Geanon to destroy the ballets with a second by Laurie Becherer. Motion carried.

Luke Schumm spoke on behalf on the bid by BST/WAM to host the 13 & Older Meet. Mark Kohnhorst spoke on behalf of LAKE's bid to host the meet. Jennifer Pennings spoke on behalf of SEAY's bid. Laurie Carlson spoke on behalf of WEST's bid for this meet. LAKE's bid won with 24 votes. A motion to destroy the ballots was made by Lynn Stickels and seconded by Scott Mueller. Motion carried.

Jeanne then presented the bid for the regional championship meets. EBSC is withdrawing their bid so WEST will host their regional with BAC, FSC/WBSC, and OZ hosting the other regional meets. No votes were needed because there was only one team bidding for each regional meet.

Next on the agenda was voting for Board of Directors positions. Running unopposed for reelection were Drew Walden, Peter Healy and Cathie Marty. Motion to cast an unanimous ballot for Drew and Peter was made by Cathie Marty and seconded by Jacob Johnson. A motion to cast an unanimous ballot for Cathie Marty was made by Jacob Johnson and seconded by Karen Kiel-Rosser. Blaine Carlson was nominated for the Secretary position. A motion to cast an unanimous ballot for Blaine was made by Cathie Marty and seconded by Jacob Johnson.

Wisconsin Swimming House of Delegates Meeting Minutes June 23, 2009

Page Two of Three

There were three candidates nominated for Age Group Chair. Paula Caucett nominated Ruth Ann Ahnen (LAKE). Ruth Ann spoke regarding her qualifications. Luke Schumm was nominated by Steve Keller who spoke on behalf of his nomination. Matt Wunderlin withdrew his nomination. Luke Schumm was elected. George Geanon was voted as Officials' Chair by the Officials' Committee. A motion to destroy the ballots was made/seconded by Lynn Stickels/Jacob Johnson.

Forms to host a state meet should be submitted to Age Group/Senior Committees.

Registration Chair Carol Graham reported that 2010 registration will be available online. Coach background checks expire August 1st.

Safety Chair Cathie Marty reminded teams to make sure ALL coaches keep certifications current; this means even newly hired or summer coaches need to be certified.

Technical Planning is working on a new meet reporting form. Dave Westfal has the form.

Hailey Schneider reported that Markie Healy created information for the new Athlete Rep election to take place at the State Meet.

There was no Coaches' Rep report.

Reports of Committees

A camp is planned for Sunday, October 4th at Waukesha South High School. Up to 3 representatives from a club may attend. (10 & U, 11-12, 13+) Emphasis will be on leadership.

Budget requests for 2010 should be submitted to the Finance Committee.

Disability Swimming reported that an upcoming meet Pan Am Speedo trial for SC Worlds. Three LSC swimmers are participating. Laurie Becherer (committee chair) wants to put together a database of disability swimmers and host a clinic in the winter.

Diversity Chair - no report

Luke Schumm reported that information about the "Battle of the Border" meet would be posted on the web tonight. Approximately 100 athletes from each state are expected to swim.

Records/NVT/Top 16 - 60 IE and 14 relays have been recorded.

Wisconsin Swimming House of Delegates Meeting Minutes June 23, 2009

Page Three of Three

Rules - hard copies of proposed rule/policy changes were available at the meeting. Brett Wilson/Miles Allie moved to accept the changes to policy 2.4 Host Club Responsibility as submitted by David Anderson & Jeanne Drzewiecki dated 6/19/2009. Motion carried. Jacob Johnson/Rob McCabe moved to accept the change to Policy 4.5.2 defining entry to pool at warm-ups to "A. General Warm Up: Circle swimming only, entry into the water shall be a feet first three-point entry for all competition." Motion carried.

Zone Championship information posted on website. Volunteer parent to organize bus transportation (not LSC organized) was sought. Online registration now taking place.

New Business - Luke Schumm announced ground has been broken for Rec Plex 50m pool. Drew said more changes coming regarding "legal" competition suits. George reported all suits are now assumed to be legal if comply with rules written in rulebook. For 12 & Unders. May be more coming from FINA that will make additional changes.

Next meeting is Tuesday, October 20, 2009 at 7:15 PM

Cathie Marty, recorder

| House of Delegates attendance as signed in at meeting: | | |
|--|--------------------------------|-----------------------------|
| Mark Kohnhorst – LAKE | Matt Wunderlin – WOW | Cindy DeWinter - WOW |
| Lynn Stickels - MEYO | Amy Baumgartner - LOO | Jim Laughlin - HSSB |
| Hailey Schneider – Athlete Rep Brian Wolmaupter – WAT Karen Kiel Rosser – FSC | | |
| Nathan Zabel - FSC | Ruth Ann Ahnen - LCST | Alison Geanon - LCST |
| Laurie Carlson - WEST | Steve Przybyl – OCSC | Linda Schimanski - MSS |
| Scott Mueller - MFSC | Troy Engstrom - WBSC | Kathy Schwartz – SEAY |
| Jennifer Pennings - SEAY | Luke Schumm – BST | Rob McCabe - SHOR |
| Patricia Herzfeld - WAM | Kim Thompson - BST | Dennis Duchene – BST |
| Erin Detwiler - WRAT | Wagner da Silva - Coach Rep | Kelly Carlson - BST |
| Denis (unreadable) - BST | Terri DeGrand - GBSC | Vicki Patterson - GBSC |
| Curt Beutler - WAVE | Laura Becherer - OZ | Randy Trowbridge - VAC |
| Robert White - SWAT | Brett Wilson - DFAC | Pat Lewno - Treasurer |
| Dave Anderson – Sr Chair | Carol Graham – Registration Ch | air Drew Walden – Gen Chair |
| Peter Healy - Finance Chair | George Geanon - Officials Chai | r Neil Wright - SEAY |
| Jeanne Drzewiecki - Admin Chair 🔰 Jacob Johnson - BAC 🦳 Steve Keller - Age Group Chair | | |
| Cathie Marty - Safety Chair | | |