
 Situations to Test Your Knowledge
BREASTSTOKE

A breaststroker upon entering the pool at the start of the race does a single butterfly kick before initialing any arm motion.  What is the call?
Recommended Resolution: Swimmers can insert the butterfly kick at any point before the first breaststroke kick.  There is no longer a requirement to first initiate an arm pull.

While swimming the breaststroke, a swimmer touches the wall at the turn with both hands at the same time. However, the swimmer’s left hand was at the top of the wall while his right hand touched well below the surface of the water. The turn judge raised his hand and the swimmer was disqualified. Was the call correct?

Recommended Resolution: No, the call is not correct. The breaststroke turn rule states that “the touch shall be made with both hands simultaneously at, above, or below the water surface.” This allows the swimmers hands to be on different levels when they touch the wall. They still need to touch the wall at the same time. The same is true for the touch at the finish of the race.

A coach is teaching his swimmers to do what he believes is a faster technique of getting to the wall at the breaststroke finish. He wants his swimmers, when they are inside of the backstroke flags, to stay completely under the water and not take any breaths. It takes several pull/kick cycles while submerged before the swimmers touch. Is this legal?

Recommended Resolution:  No. During the swim some part of the swimmer’s head shall break the surface of the water at least once during each complete cycle of one arm stroke and one leg kick.
You are observing the turn during 50 meter breaststroke and think you saw a non-simultaneous touch in lane 3 but you are not sure because you were distracted by your eight year old begging for money to buy candy.  What is the call?

Recommended Resolution:  No call.  The benefit of the doubt always goes to the swimmer.  If at all possible, make arrangements for your spouse or another parent to watch younger children while you are officiating so that you are not distracted from your job.  If that is not possible, it is best not to officiate.
Although a breaststroker’s head breaks the surface of the water during each cycle, she was disqualified at a recent meet for not taking a breath during each cycle. Is this a valid DQ?

Recommended Resolution: There is no requirement to breathe at any specific point of any swim. The rulebook states, “some part of the swimmer’s head shall break the surface of the water at least once during each complete cycle of one arm stroke and one leg kick, in that order, except after the start and each turn the swimmer may take one arm stroke completely back to the legs and one leg kick while wholly submerged.” There should be no disqualification.
A breaststroker stopped midway in the pool and treaded water while fixing his goggles.  Is he disqualified?  Assume instead the breaststroker made a legal touch at the turn and then fixed his goggles.  Is he disqualified? 

Recommended Resolution: Since breaststroke is a cycle stroke (one pull, one kick, in that order), the swimmer was disqualified since he broke cycle during the swim to fix his goggles.  Had he waited to fix his goggles until after a legal two-hand touch was made at the turn, he would have remained legal.  Once a legal touch has been made, the swimmer can turn in any manner (which could include adjusting goggles) so long as the swimmer is past vertical toward the breast when the feet leave the wall.
BUTTERFLY

A swimmer in the butterfly takes a simultaneous two-arm pull, kicks several times with her arms at her sides, brings both arms simultaneously forward over the water, keeps her arms stretched out in front of her for several kicks and then does another simultaneous arm pull. She repeats this process throughout the swim. Should she be disqualified?

Recommended Resolution: There should be no disqualification. There is no cycle rule requiring an arm stroke between leg kicks in butterfly. The swimmer may kick as many times as desired between strokes as long as both legs move simultaneously.  Just because something looks odd does not mean that it is illegal.
The swimmer in lane 1 has a hard time bringing her arms completely out of the water during the recovery portion of the butterfly. Every time she recovers her arms, only the skin on the top of her arms (from shoulder to wrist) is visable. The official on the turn end of the pool disqualifies her for not recovering her arms completely out of the water. Was the call proper?

Recommended Resolution:  No. If you see some skin from the shoulders to the wrist (over the calm surface of the water) it is probably legal.
A swimmer likes to keep his feet separated while kicking butterfly. He was disqualified for not having his feet and legs together while he was doing the butterfly kick. Is this a valid disqualification?

Recommended Resolution: No. The legs or the feet do not have to be together; they just need to move simultaneously.
A swimmer in the 50M butterfly touches the wall with the hands overlapped (i.e., hand-over-hand).  Is this legal?
Recommended Resolution: No. The rule requires the hands to be separated.  According to USA Swimming, “separated means that the hands cannot be stacked one on top of the other. It is not necessary to see space between the hands. Incidental contact at the fingers is not a concern”.  This rule applies to both butterfly and breaststroke.
BACKSTROKE

During the 50M backstroke a swimmer in lane 4 approaches the turn. The swimmer moves past vertical towards the breast to make a flip turn and takes a single arm pull but still finds himself too far from the wall so he kicks the remaining distance. What action should the turn judge take?

Recommended Resolution: Recommend disqualification for a delay in initiating the turning action. 
Susie is swimming backstroke and misjudges the wall and finishes with her head hitting the wall before her hand.  What is the call?
Recommended Resolution: No call. Upon completion of each length, some part of the swimmer must touch the wall and at the finish of the race some part of the swimmer must touch the wall while on the back.  The touch doesn’t legally have to be made by a hand.
A boy in 50 meter backstroke swims with both arms coming out of the water simultaneously.  What is the call?

Recommended Resolution: There is no call.  There is no definition of a pull or kick in backstroke.  As long as the swimmer stays on the back and does not pull on the lane line or walk on the bottom it is probably legal.  Again, just because something looks odd or strange does not mean that it is illegal.
FREESTYLE
A swimmer in 50 meter freestyle forgets what event he is in and swims butterfly.  What is the call?

Recommended Resolution: No call. In an event designated at freestyle the swimmer may swim any style.

During the freestyle portion of the medley relay, the 4th swimmer on the relay decided to swim butterfly. The relay team was disqualified because he was swimming the butterfly during the freestyle leg of the medley relay. Was this a valid disqualification?

Recommended Resolution: Yes, it was a valid DQ. In a medley relay or individual medley, freestyle means any style other than butterfly, breaststroke or backstroke. Therefore, swimming the butterfly, breaststroke or backstroke during any part freestyle leg of the medley relay or individual medley is not permitted.
INDIVIDUAL MEDLEY

During the transition from backstroke to breaststroke in the individual medley the swimmer in lane 6 moves past vertical towards the breast and completes a flip turn touching the wall only with his feet.  Is this a disqualification?
Recommended Resolution:  Yes.  In the individual medley, the finishing rules for each stroke apply; therefore, the swimmer should have finished the backstroke part of the race on her back.

FREESTYLE RELAY
The lead-off swimmer swims butterfly.  What is the call?  

Recommended Resolution:  There is no call.  In any event designated as a “freestyle” event, including relays, the swimmer(s) can swim any form as long as they do not pull on the lane lines or push forward from the bottom of the pool.  Even dog paddle would be acceptable.
OTHER SITUATIONS
At the 2010 NKSL Champ Meet prelims, an 8 & under swimmer is ready at the blocks when his heat was called, however, he is very nervous and needs to take an emergency bio break.  The officials decide to hold the meet up while he goes to the restroom.  Was this the correct procedure?
Recommended Resolution:  This was a judgment call on the part of the officials.  The swimmer was behind the blocks and ready to swim but nature called.  Contrast this situation with the one that follows.
A 17 year-old club swimmer is in the parking lot hanging out with his girlfriend when his heat is called to the blocks.  His parents yell to the starter to hold the heat as they go running out to the parking lot to find him.  The starter did not wait for the swimmer and sent the heat off without him.
Recommended Resolution:  Unlike the previous situation, this swimmer was not behind the blocks when his heat was called so he was disqualified.  The same resolution would be in order if the swimmer was at the concession stand eating or over in the play area far away from the starting blocks.  Consider all the facts before arriving at a conclusion and be consistent.  NOTE: The no-show rule is strictly followed at the Champ Meet, however, during regular season meets every attempt should be made to allow swimmers to compete even when they miss their assigned heat (put them in an open lane in the next heat), but of course they are not eligible to score points in the event missed.
A swimmer with a broken leg is participating in a breaststroke event.  Due to the cast on her leg, she is unable to perform a legal breaststroke kick (i.e., the toes are not pointed outward during the propulsive part of the kick).  
Recommended Resolution: Exceptions can be made for medical reasons.  Coaches should inform the meet director/referee of documented medical conditions that prevent a swimmer from performing the strokes legally.  This communication should be before the meet starts and should be supported, as necessary, by notes from medical professionals.  Any kind of tape on the body is not permitted unless it is medically necessary, as deemed by a medical professional’s note.  Also, refer to USA Swimming Rule 102.8E which states:  No swimmer is permitted to wear or use any device, substance or swimsuit to help his/her speed, pace, buoyancy or endurance during a race (such as wetsuit, webbed gloves, flippers, fins, power bands, adhesive substances, etc.).
Six year-old swimmer is in her first swim meet.  The grandparents are at the meet and dad is videotaping as she swims her first 25 meter breaststroke race ever.  During the race the whole team cheers her efforts.  Unfortunately, you are the stroke & turn official with jurisdiction over her lane and you clearly observe an illegal scissors kick.  What should you do?

Recommended Resolution: You should recommend disqualification for the illegal scissors kick.  Recommending a disqualification is never fun but it is the appropriate and right thing to do.  There are no exemptions made to the rules for age or ability. 
At the 2015 champ meet, a relay swimmer re-enters (does a cannonball) the pool to celebrate a win with her teammate who just finished the race.  Is this legal?

Recommended Resolution: It is not legal and the relay was disqualified.  Swimmers are not permitted to enter or re-enter the pool unless permission is given by a meet official. This is true regardless of the reason, including to retrieve lost caps and googles.
At the 2016 champ meet, during the individual medley the swimmer in lane 4 pushes off the wall during the back to breast transition and ends up in lane 3, interfering with the swimmer in that lane.  What is the call?
Recommended Resolution: The swimmer in lane 4 was disqualified for interference.  The swimmer in lane 3 should be offered a re-swim.

AVOIDING PROBLEMS
The best way to avoid problems is by knowing and following the rules, and being professional.  
Maintain emotional control.  Listen to coaches with an open mind regardless of whether or not you agree with them.  If you get emotional, the situation can only get worse.  
Officials should review procedures before each meet and then work as a team.  Finally, if you make a mistake, admit it and fix the error.
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