Terrace Blueback Swim Club

2020-2021 Swimmers of the year!

Nic Sunderland-Baker

Even without meets, the Bluebacks have had a strong training season which included many unofficial best times at practice races, some official best times and first races at the November time trial, and incredible Swimathon performances. Here are the 2020-2021 outstanding swimmers:


Competitor of the year: Amy Campbell

Her willingness to take the lead during practice and the way she attacks every set, race and relay make Amy our competitor of the year. Amy got her first official 200 IM time at the time trial in November and then improved the time by an impressive 22 seconds at a practice race on May 1st. Amy’s competitive mindset energizes her entire training group.

Honorable mention for competitor of the year: Camryn Costain, who thrives on racing and pushed herself and her teammates in Silver and Gold to several significant best time improvements in longer and longer events over the course of the season. Camryn is a natural competitor.


Most improved: Georgia Bergstreiser.

Georgia went from learning to exhale underwater to getting an official 200 IM time in November and then improving that time by a whopping 36 seconds a few months later. Her strong butterfly makes her a great teammate for relays and she has a talent for swimming all four strokes efficiently. Crystal and I look forward to seeing Georgia lead the lane more often and even take on competing at a meet when the opportunity comes.

Most improved athlete honorable mentions:

  • Colby Bowles, who achieved two official best times at the November time trial in the 200 IM and the 100 back and many more unofficial best times at practice races including the 100, 200, 400 and 800 free, the 100 fly, the 100 and 200 back, and the 400 IM
  • Conor Paulitschke, who joined Red 1 at the beginning of the season, learned to breathe by turning his head to the side in his freestyle and quickly became a regular lane leader
  • Maia Purita, who joined Red 1 in October and has learned to do a strong freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, streamline glide and dolphin kick


Rookie of the year: Seamus McMurray

Seamus joined Red 1 in October, earned two official best times in the 50 free and 50 backstroke at the November time trial and learned breaststroke, streamlines and dolphin kick in the subsequent months of training. Seamus gives the thumbs-up to Mackenzie and me to show when he understands the instruction and brings a calm, positive mindset to each of his practices. He gets a thumbs-up in return for his great progress.

Honorable mentions for Rookie of the year: Maia Purita, Conor Paulitschke, Kaelin Zwambag, Easton Testawich, Sarah Albizreh, Quinn Levesque, Merik Hogg-Perry, Grace Marcotte and Calum Stewart. All deserve applause for their great efforts.


Inspiration award: Sophie Coosemans

Sophie wins this award for being a strong, reliable teammate in terms of attendance and practice habits. Sophie’s habitual way of coming in, dry activating and starting practice on time helps get her group going and creates a standard of behaviour for the younger swimmers to follow. Sophie approaches her strokes methodically and has a talent for building her speed through long practices. This year, Sophie has improved her times in the 200 IM, 100 free, 100 back (by 10 seconds!) and 100 breast and set new times in the 400 IM and the 400 and 800 free. A truly inspiring swimmer.

Inspiration award honorable mentions: Sequoia Wood, Noah Grielens and Xavier Grielens, Thomas and Darien Sambo, who are the loudest voices on deck when their training group does a relay. Well done!


Male swimmer of the year: Oliver Ungehojer

Oliver's attendance, improvement and willingness to take the lead in practice make Oliver our male swimmer of the year. He earned official best times in the 200 IM and 50 and 100 freestyle at the time trial, bettered the 200 IM and 100 free times at later practices, and got unofficial best times in practice races of the 100 back, 200, 400 and 800 free, and the 400 IM. Oliver’s 400 IM and 400 and 800 freestyle times make him a good candidate for moving from Bronze to Silver. An amazing season. Well done, Oliver.

Male swimmer of the year honorable mentions: Colby Bowles, Matthew Block and Gabriel Ungehojer all had very strong seasons filled with impressive improvement.


Female swimmer of the year: Amy McKay

Almost perfect attendance, a strong mindset at every practice, improvement to all four strokes, moving up to gold, the fastest training group, consistent good turns and underwaters, the ability to train with independence, and most of all taking her swimming seriously make Amy the Bluebacks’ athlete of the year. Amy earned an official best time in the 200 IM at the time trial (which she knocked 10 seconds off at a practice race a few months later) and unofficial best times in the 100 fly, the 100 breast, the 100 and 200 back, the 100, 200, 400 and 800 free and the 400 IM this year. Congratulations Amy on an amazing season!

Female swimmer of the year honorable mentions: Sophie Coosemans, Kristin Campbell, Carlee Metzger, Brook-Lynn Meijer. All deserve recognition for their hard work this season under difficult circumstances.