Why become an Official?

Clubs are encouraged to promote the progression of officials "up the ladder", enhancing their ability to host and assist at swim meets. Better officiating means better and more efficient meets.

A minimum number of officials are required for clubs to obtain a sanction for swim meets.


What are the levels on the 'ladder"?

There are 5 levels of officiating in Canada:

Level I - Red pin

Level II - White pin

Level III - Orange pin

Level IV - Senior Official - Green pin

Level V - Master Official - Blue pin

Parents who are new to the club and who do not have any prior officiating experience are encouraged to start with the Level I courses such as introductory Timekeeper and Safety Marshall Course followed by Judge of Strokes & Turns and other Level II courses.

Visit the Swimming Canada website to read about Official Certification System

To sign in click here



More Information

Swim Ontario website



If you have any questions, please contact [email protected].