Regina Dolphins win 7th consecutive ManSask

Head Coach
Jul 8, 2019

The Regina Dolphins have been dubbed the "the dynasty of prairie swim teams" winning their 7th consecutive ManSask in Winnipeg this past weekend.  Racing started on Thursday with the Dolphins out to an early lead on team points, but that was quickly taken over by Manitoba Marlins on Friday evening who held the lead by a narrow 200 point margin until Sunday night when the Regina Dolphins turned up the heat and were determined not to be denied of their 7th consecutive inter-provincial championship.  The Regina Dolphins ending up winning the points title with 4251 points and a 270 point margin over the Manitoba Manta.  

"This victory is special for us, we were not favourite on paper with 14 fewer swimmers than the favourite team, we stayed focused during the 4 days and we did it as a TEAM. This season we worked a lot on  growth mindset and how to overcome challenges, for me it's the most important thing to teach our athletes, it's a life skill. Our coaches also did a fantastic job with our younger athletes, our program shows again that we offer the best environment for our athletes to unlock potential, it's a great achievement, but it's only the start of the long and exciting journey" Abderrahmane Tissira, Head Coach

Three swimmers from the Regina Dolphins won the all-around title in their respective age groups: 

Ava Harlos - 12 & Under Female (scoring 315 points, with 7 first place finishes and a fourth) 
Ben Stewart - 13 & under Male (scoring 330 points, with 7 first place finishes and a second) 
Brian Palaschuk - 16 & Over Male 9(scoring 320 points, with 7 first place finishes and a third) 

Mya Thompson (13-14 age group) and Emma Spence (15 & over age group) added provincial awards in their respective age categories with 255 and 243 points respectively.  
Honourable mentions go out to Mitchell Brough, Ryan Jensen and Michael McGillivary who all added 150 plus points each for the men's team.    

Congratulations also go out to Brian Palaschuk for winning Betty Lou Dean Award for the highest scoring Male Swim of the Meet for his 200 IM with a time of 2:03.60 and 784 FINA Points.
Congratulations to Mev Daschuk who achieved her CJC (Canadian Junior Championships) time cut in the 400m freestyle, Taylor Hebert who achieved a Senior Nationals and Olympic trials time standard in the 1500m freestyle and Cole Roulston who  achieved the Western Canada Games time standard.
The work continues for those swimmers who have qualified for Canadian Junior Championships, Summers Nationals and Western Canada Summer Games.  
Regina Optimist Dolphins Swim Club
Contact Head Coach Tissira: at or 306-209-1100
Contact RODS Media: Reply to email or call/text 306-552-9002