President Jill Edwards [email protected]
Vice President Clare Hickson [email protected]
Treasurer Karol Basler [email protected]
Secretary Kristi Williams [email protected]
Past President Eugene Chomey [email protected]
Director at Large Inna Mackay [email protected]
Director at Large Ian Boreyko [email protected]
Director at Large Rob Cole [email protected]
Director at Large Cian O'Kelly [email protected]


Board of Director Bios


Jill Edwards, President
I have two swimmers in the club:  Drew and Cora This is our 5th year in swimming and it's hard to believe we were once upon a time going to our very first swim meet.  Since we joined Keyano, my volunteering role within the club has expanded to include being a Meet Manager, a Chaperone, a Board member, a Committee member, and now learning how to manage the entries for our swim meets. I have learned so much in these past five years and know I have many more aspects of this world of swimming yet to learn.
I work at the Royal Alexandra Hospital in the ICU as a Respiratory Therapist. I have been there for nearly 23 years and have (almost) gotten used to the night shifts. I feel that my background has enabled me to have good critical thinking skills which can be used in many other aspects of life including my time on the Board of Directors. Thank you for your support and feel free to contact me. I am always happy to welcome members to the club and the many opportunities to become involved.

Clare Hickson, Vice President
Clare has 3 swimmers in the Club - Ellen, Lauren & Bella; and has been with Keyano since moving to Edmonton from the UK in 2014.  Clare was previously a volunteer judge for British Swimming and continues to support competitive meets on deck as a volunteer.  She joined the EKSC Board in 2017 to specifically support HR activities within the Club and is excited to take on the role of Vice-President for this coming year.  She holds an Honours Degree in Business Studies and has been a Chartered Member of the UK Institute of Personnel and Development since 1994. Her experience has centred on UK utility industries and the National Health Service in England, both as an HR professional and a specialist in change and transformation. She continues to provide consultancy support to clients in the UK health sector.
Clare is usually at both Confederation and the Kinsmen, and would encourage anyone with questions, queries, concerns or feedback to contact her direct or speak to her in person; she would love to hear from you.

Karol Basler, Treasurer

Karol Basler is the founder and president of www.techsuits.ca and the mother of three Keyano Bears.

Since 2013, she has been involved in three different competitive swim clubs in Ontario and Alberta, the Burlington Aquatic Devilrays (BAD), the Greater Ottawa Kingfish (GO) and now EKSC. While in Burlington Ontario, she was also the administrator (responsible for operations and policy development) of one of Canada's largest gymnastic clubs, the Burlington Gymnastics Club (BGC).

Karol has also been the business manager of an architectural firm and a small construction company before launching her own business. Before kids, Karol was an administrative supervisor at the Government of Alberta's Ministry of Transport and Public Works. With a bachelor's degree in Physical Education from McMaster University (and a second one in art history/fine arts), she brings 30 years of administrative, management and sports experience to the board of EKSC.

Karol sees the benefit that swimming has brought to her family and would like to give back with EKSC. She'd love to use her knowledge and experience of what has worked (and not worked) in other clubs and sports and, her business management experience in the competitive swimming industry, to EKSC. Karol is dedicated to using this experience to support the well-laid-out 10 year vision that the club's management team recently presented to the families of our swimmers.

Kristi Williams, Secretary

Eugene Chomey​, Past President
Eugene joined the EKSC Board in 2016 to support the Club and Sport which his daughter Sarah has been a part of since 2008.  Eugene has served on a number of Board/Groups including University of Alberta General Faculties Council, Graduate Students Association, SWAT Hockey, while in his professional career in the field of biotechnology he has implemented corporate training strategies, participated in product development while achieving presidents club status for exceeding corporate growth goals.  Eugene has the goal of serving the membership of Keyano by: continuing to develop the policies and structures of the Club; implement a strategic plan to focus on swimmer development at each level through an exceptional coaching team supported by robust operations; and foster the environment to produce exceptional athletes and people for our community.

Ian Boreyko, Director at Large

Rob Cole, Director at Large

Cian O'Kelly, Director at Large

I have been involved with competitive swimming for over 30 years. Growing up, I swam several years with Keyano and then five years at the University of Alberta. More recently I have been back in the water with the Edmonton Masters Swim Club. Our three kids are all Keyano swimmers with two in Silver and Gold at the Royal Glenora satellite and our eldest in the JC group at the Kinsmen. I work as a neurosurgeon at the University of Alberta Hospital and I am an Associate Professor on the teaching faculty. I look forward to serving on the EKSC board and helping the club to grow and realize its potential.

Inna Mackay, Director at Large



  2022-23   2021-22 2020-21 2019-20
President       JIll Edwards
Vice President       Clare Kickson
Jane Forest /
Karol Basler*
Secretary       Kristi Williams
Past President       Eugene Chomey
Director at Large       Karol Basler*
Director at Large       Rob Cole
Director at Large       Cian O'Kelly
Director at Large       Ian Boreyko
Director at Large       Inna Mackay









*Post in-term changes

  2018-2019     2015-2016 2014-2015* 2014-2015
President Jill Edwards Eugene Chomey Tim Vander Leek Tim Vander Leek
Vice President Clare HIckson Rodd Thorkelsson Eugen Chomey Chris Bowie
Treasurer Jane Forest Jane Forest Jen Brendzan Carrie Pinel
Secretary Kristi Williams Jill Edwards Jill Edwards JIll Edwards
Past President Eugen Chomey Tim Vander Leek -- Grant Hauer
Director at Large Cian O'Kelly Clare Hickson Doug Hiebert Eugene Chomey
Director at Large Larry Liang Larry Liang Kevin Przyswitt Donna Cole
Director at Large Rob Cole Troy Long Rodd Thorkelsson Kevin Przyswitt
Director at Large Claudia Davies Claudia Davies -- Rodd Thorkelsson
Director at Large   Isha Katyal    








*Post in-term changes


  2013-2014 2012-2013 2011-2012
President Tim Vander Leek Grant Hauer  
Vice President Chris Bowie Chris Bowie  
Treasurer Carrie pinel Preeti Warnock  
Secretary Doreen Nyback Carrie Pinel  
Past President Grant Hauer Cindy Tonn  
Director at Large Allysson Jerace Greg Lang  
Director at Large Greg Lang Tim Vander Leek  
Director at Large Kevin Przyswitt Gary Zimmermann  
Director at Large Gary Zimmermann --