Below is some background information on USA Swimming

USA Swimming in our Program
US swimming is basically “ Club Swimming.” PAY is predominately a YMCA program, but we have the privilege of being part of both Ymca and US swimming.

Once swimmers are registered on our team through the Y- swimmers become YMCA team members. However, they do not automatically become US swimming members. This is an extra bonus for the more competitive, elite swimmers.

USA swimming basically provides swimmers with more competition, in longer events, that YMCA swimming does not offer. It is a little more competitive. It also offers the swimmers more swim meets, at a higher level of competition.

PAY usually attends 5 or so USS meets throughout the year in our surrounding area. We usually attend 4 in the winter season, and one in the summer season. USS meets are held on the weekends, and take place on both Saturday and Sundays. Swimmers usually attend both days; either competing in the morning session or the afternoon session each day.

In order to compete in US swimming, you must become a USS member. If you are already a USS member, renewal must be made every year. We usually submit our new members/ renewals in September and October of every year. It does cost $ 75 a year to become a member. Each competition is extra, usually about $ 5 per event, per meet.

Membership forms can be found at the below address:

What is USA Swimming? 

USA Swimming (USA-S) was established by Congress as the National Governing Body for competitive swimming in the United States. USA-S is a federation member of the international governing body of swimming, the Federation Internationale de Natation Amateur (FINA).
Middle Atlantic Swimming is an administrative arm of USA Swimming -- called a Local Swimming Committee (LSC) -- which supervises competitive swimming within established geographic boundaries. There are 59 LSCs in the United States.
The Middle Atlantic LSC includes New Jersey, south of Mercer and Monmouth Counties; Delaware; and Pennsylvania east of and including Potter, Clinton, Centre, Huntingdon, and Bedford Counties.
Middle Atlantic Swimming is part of the Eastern Zone of the US, which includes 11 other LSCs: Allegheny Mt. (Eastern PA); Niagara, Adirondack, and Metropolitan (NY); Maryland; Virginia; Potomac Valley; New Jersey; Connecticut; New England; and Maine. All four Zones (Eastern, Southern, Central, and Western) conduct All Star competitions and Sectional Meets for teams within their Zone. [ZONE MAP]
Middle Atlantic Swimming endorses five core values:
1. We believe in a positive environment.
2. We value integrity and fairness.
3. We believe in excellence.
4. We value leadership.
5. We value innovation and creativity.
Middle Atlantic Swimming advocates the growth and development of a diverse swimming community through education, innovation and a commitment to excellence.
The LSC is governed by the House of Delegates, which includes representatives from each Club; the Board of Directors; appointed Committee Chairs; and At-Large members. Board Meetings are held at the LSC office in Wilmington, DE. House meetings are held usually at the Upper Main Line YMCA in Berwyn, PA -- and are open to all members of USS.