Coaches and Directors

Coaches and Directors
Coaching Staff
Emma McEntarffer Head Coach

Coach Emma’s relationship with competitive swimming began at Ballard Pool when she was seven years old. She then began swimming club as a member of GPAC, HLA, and then briefly with GNST as the club made its way to Lincoln. Emma recently completed her 16th season coaching with the Lincoln Shooting Stars Special Olympics Swim Team. In 2010 she was an assistant swim coach for Special Olympics Nebraska’s National Team. In July she wrapped her eighth season as Coordinator of the Lincoln Parks & Recreation Swim & Dive League; which serves around 800 athletes. 

Emma became the Head Age Group Coach at GNST in the fall of 2017. She has had athletes qualify and compete at both Short & Long Course Midwestern Championships, Central Zones, and Sectionals. Emma has been an assistant coach for Team Midwestern at Central Zones (2018-2019) and Midwestern All Stars (2019). She currently acts as the Age Group Chair for Midwestern Swimming, and is excited to help keep our age group athletes connected with opportunities within Midwestern Swimming. During the school year, Emma works as a paraeducator in Special Education at Northeast High School and is a Head Coach for Lincoln East Swimming & Diving.


David Crosby Head Age Group Coach

Coach David started swimming for Lincoln Parks and Recreation at Woods Pool when he was nine years old. He swam at Lincoln East High School for four years under Greg Fleming. After graduating high school, David began coaching for the Irving Swim Team in the Lincoln Parks & Recreation Swim League. This experience helped him find his passion for helping young athletes develop a love for the sport of swimming. David became the head coach of the Irving Swim Team in 2016 and has helped it grow into the largest team in the league. In addition, he has also worked as a lifeguard, taught swimming lessons, and coached for Nebraska Aquatics. David previously worked as a paraeducator in Special Education for Lincoln Public Schools for three years, where he continued to grow in his abilities to work with all individuals and ensure their needs are met. He is currently enrolled in the Elementary Education/Special Education program at UNL and plans on graduating in the spring of 2020. During the school year, David is the Assistant Swim Coach at Lincoln North Star.


Bailey Jorgensen Assistant Coach

Coach Bailey began swimming with the YMCA Dolphins Swim Team at the age of ten. She continued with the Dolphins until she began high school, where she swam for three years and then managed during her senior year at Lincoln Southwest. In 2014 Bailey began coaching with the Cooper YMCA Crocodiles, and in 2016 she became their Head Coach. While coaching the Crocodiles she works with swimmers, ages 6-18, in developing the skills they need to be competitive swimmers, as well as well-rounded people. Along with coaching the Crocodiles, Bailey also plays a role as a swim lesson instructor through the YMCA. Outside of coaching, Bailey attends school at the University of Nebraska Lincoln, where she is working towards her degree in Elementary Education.


Linzie Kreizel Assistant Coach
Heather Heffernan Assistant Coach
Jocelyn Theil Assistant Coach

Coach Jocelyn began swimming competitively at age 11 for Greater Nebraska Swim Team. She swam for four years on her high school team, Lincoln Pius X, and began lifeguarding and teaching swimming lessons for the YMCA her sophomore year. In 2014 Jocelyn was an assistant coach for the Lincoln Pius X Swim Team. From 2014-2017 Jocelyn was the Head Coach for the Meadowlane Swim Team in the Lincoln Parks & Recreation Swim League. In the fall of 2014 Jocelyn began coaching for GNST where she has coached the White, Pink, and Gray groups. Jocelyn has helped swimmers to achieve cuts for Short & Long Course Championships, as well as Midwestern All Stars. Jocelyn enjoys the diverse abilities that make up the swimmers she gets to coach. She loves the excitement and energy her athletes bring to the pool and appreciates being able to witness their growth throughout each season. Outside of GNST, Jocelyn is a UBT Loan Processor at Union Bank.


Chris Hansen Volunteer Coach

Coach Chris began swimming competitively during his Sophomore year of high school in Norfolk. He continued to compete with Norfolk High through his senior year, when he qualified for State in the 100 Breast and 200 IM. Chris spent his freshman year of college swimming at USD, and then returned to Lincoln when he joined the Army Reserve. While back in Lincoln, Chris began teaching stroke technique lessons with Great Plains Aquatics Club (now known as HLA), and began swimming with the Psuedo Master’s group under GPAC coach Terri Hermes. Coach Chris is excited to help other swimmers continue their love for the sport, and maybe they’ll make it a life-long passion as he has. In his personal life, Chris manages Premier Aquatechs, continues to swim (miles and miles) for Master’s, and enjoys frequent trips to Colorado to ski with his family.



Cal Bentz Head Coach Emeritus

Coach Bentz has more than 50 years of coaching experience including 24 years as Head Coach of Swimming and Diving at the University of Nebraska; and 22 years as a high school coach, club coach and teacher.  His collegiate men’s teams produced more than 100 NCAA All Americans and the women’s program produced more than 80 NCAA All Americans.  Under Coach Bentz, Nebraska teams won 16 men’s conference titles and 5 women’s conference titles in swimming and diving.  More than 20 Olympians from all over the world competed for Nebraska under Coach Bentz.

During his tenure at Omaha Westside High School, Coach Bentz’ boys and girls teams won 16 state championship titles.  In 1976, the Omaha World Herald named Coach Bentz, “Nebraska High School Coach of the Year.”  He was a long time member and past president of the Nebraska High School Coaches’ Association and in 1997 was inducted into the Nebraska High School Sports Hall of Fame.  In 2005, he was inducted into the Westside High School’s Coaches’ Night of Distinction.  In November 2008, he was inducted into the Midwestern Swimming Hall of Fame.

Coach Bentz was a four year letterman in swimming, team captain his junior and senior years and graduated from the University of Nebraska in 1955.  While coaching at Nebraska he was honored as an Alumnus of the Year and in 1992 he was presented the UNL Parents Association Recognition Award for Contribution to Students.  Coach Bentz has coached and taught, provided competitive swimming camps and clinics in Nebraska and the Midwest for 54 years.  He has worked extensively in fundamental swimming skill development, dry-land and core body strength development and seasonal, periodic and daily workout design.  He has also served as a volunteer coach for the Kearney, Nebraska High School Swimming Team.

Cal Bentz passed away July 4th, 2017. He will always be in our hearts.  

Board of Directors
Chris Hansen President
Brian Owens Vice President
James Piippo Treasurer
Kristin Crawford Board Member
Chad Martin Board Member
Cori Schmit Board Member