National Age Group Motivational Time Standards

In swimming, winning isn’t everything. A swimmer may be racing against other athletes in the pool, but they are also racing against the clock.

USA Swimming establishes time standards called National Age Group Motivational times every few years that are designed to encourage age-group swimmers to take their swimming to the next level. Swimmers begin by trying to earn a “B” time and can progress all the way to “AAAA” or “Quad A.”

National Age Group Motivational Standards, USA Swimming​

Minimum Time Standards

Several swim meets require swimmers to achieve a minimum time standard in an event to be able to participate. For example, Oklahoma Swimming sets minimum standards to qualify for the Oklahoma Age Group Championships. The Central Zone Championships, which include a team from Oklahoma, requires "AAA" times to qualify.

Below are helpful links to these various time standards:

2019 USA Swimming Speedo Winter Junior National qualifying times

2020 Region VIII Spring Championship qualifying times

2020 Region VIII Summer Championship qualifying times

2020 U.S. Olympic Time Trial Standards