Our History

Since its founding in 1950 by International Swimming Hall of Famer Ken Treadway, thousands of swimmers have been a part of this historic program. As one of the longest-running swim clubs in the nation, Splash Club has made a positive impact in the lives of countless swimmers through sportsmanship, ambition, confidence, perseverance, and leadership. These ideals have inspired Splash Club swimmers to excel at the highest levels of our sport and still hold true today, forming the cornerstone of our vision:

“Challenging Tomorrow’s Leaders, Building Lifelong Champions”

Throughout its seven decades of swimming excellence, Splash Club swimmers have competed at the highest levels of the sport, including the U.S. Olympic Trials, World Championships, U.S. national championships, and NCAA Championships. In addition to earning spots on the U.S. National Team, numerous Splash Club swimmers have earned collegiate and high school All-American status.


8 Decades of Excellence

Splash Club celebrated it's 66th Anniversary in 2016. Alumni from around the globe converged on Bartlesville for a celebration and reunion. Founding coach Ken Treadway was in attendance along with longtime coach John Spannuth. Olympic Gold Medalist Rowdy Gaines served as the master of ceremonies for this momentous celebration. Splash Club was honored with Splash Club Day, bestowed by Bruce Wigo, President of the International Swimming Hall of Fame. 

Learn More | See more of our history in our 66th Anniversary Celebration Yearbook and historical Video.

Hall of Fame

In 2016, Splash Club was inducted into the Bartlesville Sports Commission (BSC) Hall of Fame. Click to view the BSC induction video.