The Orcas had a dominant performance in the regular season, capturing the gross scoring title at all ten regular season meets.  They have currently won 15 consecutive regular season meets.  In addition, they were successful in capturing their 12th consecutive Region F title, as 93 swimmers came out to dominated the rest of Southern Alberta.  Over 50 Orcas were able to qualify for Provincial Championships by ranking in the top 2 in the region in an event, or top 16 in Alberta in a specific event.  Of these qualifying swimmers, 35 of them carried on to Provincials, where the Orcas were once again the top placing team from Southern Alberta in both the Age Group and Masters Standings.  In the 17 & Under categories, the Orcas captured 268.5 points to finish 7th in the Large Team Gross Points Standings.  In the Masters Division, the Orcas were able to finish with 255 points as they finished 2nd behind North Edmonton Swim Club.

The Orcas contingent finished 7th in Age Group Scoring and 2nd in Masters Scoring at the 2016 ASSA Provincial Championships

Provincial Medal Winners
 Age Group and Masters combined, the Orcas were able to capture 52 medals over the weekend of racing.  Individual medal winners included:
Ethan Fisher: B13&14 50 Free
Owen Guyn: B18&O 50 Breast and 50 Back
Jenn Kabeary: G18&O 200 Free
James Kwan: B18&O 100 Free and 100 IM
Garrett Myles: B15-17 50 Back
Rachel Tkach: G18&O 200 IM and 50 Back
Charlotte Vanden Elzen: G13&14 200 Free
Keeley Watt: G18&O 50 Breast and 50 Fly
Tyson Chomiak: B13&14 100 Free
Kara DeClark: G18&O 50 Fly
Aaron Gamble: B18&O 50 Back and 100 Back
Owen Guyn: B18&O 50 Free and 50 Fly
Shannon Healy: G18&O 100 IM and 100 Breast
James Kwan: B18&O 200 Free
Mark Mundell: B18&O 800 Free
Jens Watt: B13&14 100 IM
Keeley Watt: G18&O 50 Free and 50 Back
Tyson Chomiak: B13&14 50 Back
Kara DeClark: G18&O 100 Free, 100 Fly, and 50 Back
Jenn Kabeary: G18&O 400 Free and 800 Free
Ottavio Lutterotti: B7&8 25 Free, 50 Free, 25 Breast, and 50 Breast
Charlotte Vanden Elzen: G13&14 50 Free and 100 Free
Madeline Vanden Elzen: G13&14 50 Breast and 100 Breast
Jens Watt: B13&14 50 Breast and 100 Breast
Cole Wirun: B11&12 50 Back

Madeline Vanden Elzen (Left) and Jens Watt (Right) swept all four of the 13-14 Breastroke events as they both dominated the 13-14 50 and 100m Breastroke

In addition to these individual medals, relay teams also racked up 11 medals, including 7 gold medals.  The relay medal winners included:
X8&U MR: Alex Mundell, Ottavio Lutterotti, Kaitlin Kozub, and Elliott Pilsner-Roberts
G17&U FR: Charlotte Vanden Elzen, Ali Fournier, Madeline Vanden Elzen, and Kira Armstrong
XOpen 200 FR: Aaron Gamble, Mark Mundell, Jenn Kabeary, and Rachel Tkach
X8&U FR: Ottavio Lutterotti, Kaitlin Kozub, Alex Mundell, and Elliott Pilsner-Roberts
X14&U MR: Madeline Vanden Elzen, Jens Watt, Tyson Chomiak and Charlotte Vanden Elzen
B14&U FR: Tyson Chomiak, Jens Watt, Ryan Meroniuk, and Ethan Fisher
X17&U MR: Garrett Myles, Ali Fournier, Malcolm Fisher, and Kira Armstrong
GOpen MR: Keeley Watt, Shannon Healy, Kara DeClark, and Jenn Kabeary
GOpen FR: Keeley Watt, Shannon Healy, Isabelle Petry, and Kara DeClark
BOpen MR: Aaron Gamble, James Kwan, Mark Mundell, and Owen Guyn
BOpen FR: James Kwan, Garrett Myles, Malcolm Fisher, and Owen Guyn

Ottavio Lutterotti (Left) went 4/4, winning all of his individual events while adding a bronze and silver to his medal collection from relays.  Charlotte Vanden Elzen (Right) proved that there is no such thing as a “down/ rebuilding year”.  At 13 years of age, she won gold in the G13-14 50 free and 100 free, and bronze in the 200 free.  She also added a gold and a bronze in relays

Championship Season – Top Performance Awards:
Top Performance awards are awarded the top female and male swimmer in each age group.  The individual in each of these categories who earned the gretaest amount of points in their individual events at Provincials will receive the award.  In the case that not a single swimmer scored at Provincials in a category, the award will be granted to the highest point scorer from Region F Regionals.  A maximum of 36 points could be earned at each meet, which could be achieved by winning 4/4 individual events.  The Top Performance Awards for the 2016 Championship Season were won by:
6&U: Taylor Ginther (Regionals: 30 Points)
7-8: Elliott Pilsner-Roberts (Regionals: 17 Pts)
9-10: Lily Petry (Provincials: 1 Pt, Regionals: 26 Pts)
11-12: Isabelle Petry (Regionals: 19 Pts)
13-14: Charlotte Vanden Elzen (Provincials: 28 Pts, Regionals: 36 Pts)
15-17: Kira Armstrong (Provincials: 10.5 Pts, Regionals: 27 Pts)
Masters: Kara DeClark (Provincials: 34 Pts, Regionals: 32 Pts)
6&U: Bentley Togo (Regionals: 16 Pts)
7-8: Ottavio Lutterotti (Provincials: 36 Pts, Regionals: 36 Pts)
9-10: Paul Vanden Elzen (Regionals: 22 Pts)
11-12: Cole Wirun (Provincials: 17 Pts, Regionals: 36 Pts)
13-14: Jens Watt (Provincials: 27 Pts, Regionals: 31 Pts)
15-17: Garrett Myles (Provincials: 11 Pts, Regionals: 32 Pts)
Masters: Owen Guyn (Provincials: 26 Pts, Regionals: 32 Pts)

Garrett Myles (Left) backflips into the pool en-route to accumulating the most Regionals and Provincials points in the boys 15-17 age category. Lily Petry (right) was able to overcome the “down year” myth to win top performance in the 9-10 girls categor

Other Club Awards Winners:
Although performance is most easily recognized in a sport, the Orcas also aim to recognize those who have made vast improvements, those who work hard, or those who are great leaders within the club.  The award winners of the 2016 season were:
Club MVP:
Female: Kira Armstrong
Male: Malcolm Fisher
Mini Orca of the Year
Zada McLean-Borggard
Master of the Year
Rachel Tkach
Most Improved
Killer Whale: Emi Polec and Justin Larue
Bronze: Brooklyn Kimmen
Silver: Eric Wen
Gold: Rick Petrone
Tier I: Robbie DelaGarza
Coach’s Award
Killer Whale: Bentley Togo and Samantha Clamp
Bronze: Jake Odorski and Tracy Wen
Silver: Alejandro Figueroa and Kierra Petrone
Gold: Hunter Lutterotti and Lily Petry
Tier I: Ethan Fisher and Charlotte Vanden Elzen
In Season Top Performance (Most Total Points at Regular Season Meets)
Female: Madeline Vanden Elzen
Male: Ottavio Lutterotti 



Kira Armstrong (Left) was selected as  the female Club MVP.  Bentley Togo (Right) was awarded the Coach’s Award for the Killer Whale group

Looking Forward to the 2017 Season
The registrations dates for the 2017 summer season have been set.  Registration for returning swimmers will be on Monday, April 3, from 6-8:30 at the Sports Council Meeting Room in the Nicholas Sheran Arena.  Registration for new families will be held at the same location on Wednesday, April 5, from 6-8:30.  Prices and groups are as shown in the add below.  The parent handbook and registration package can be found on the Orcas website (lethbridgeorcas.com), under the registration section.

​The Orcas will look to add to their 15 meet winning streak by aiming for another undefeated season.  All ages and most skill levels are welcome to help the Orcas work towards their goals for another succesful summer.  See you at the pool!