Tri-County Conference


Tri-County Conference

The Tri-County Swim Conference is a swimming league comprised of eight teams in the South Central region of Wisconsin:  Baraboo, Cross Plains, Mt. Horeb, Mazomanie, Sauk Prairie, Spring Green, Sun Prairie, and Wisconsin Dells.  Anyone living within the school district of a particular team is eligible to swim for that team.

Conference website:


Dual Meets

Tri-County dual meets are weekly during June and July.  There are seven dual meets and a two-day conference championship meet (always the last weekend of July).

Age is computed as of June 1st each year to determine age group that swimmers compete in.  At each dual meet, swimmers are able to swim in three individual events and one relay or two individual events and two relays.  Some swimmers will swim for points and some will swim exhibition as determined by the coaches.  Teams are limited to three swimmers per event to swim for points.  Teams can have unlimited relays typically two to four.  All swimmers must report to the clerk of course at swim meets, which is a staging area for their events.

Events swum in meets include freestyle, breaststroke, backstroke, butterfly, individual medley (IM), freestyle and medley relay.  Ribbons are awarded for 1st – 6th place for point heats and 1st – 3rd for exhibition events.  It is best for parents to focus on time and stroke improvements rather than where their swimmer places.


Conference Meet

Eligibility: Must have swum in at least three conference dual meets throughout the season to be able to participate in this end-of-season meet.

Preliminaries: This is a pre-seeded meet, which is scheduled the Saturday following the last weekend of dual meets.  Warm ups are 7:30 – 8:40 AM, and the meet starts at 9:00 AM.  Teams are allowed to enter three individuals per event.

Finals: Places 1 to 8 will swim finals, places 9 to 16 will swim consolations, and places 17 to 18 are alternates in case of missing swimmers.  Finals are held on Sunday, as are the relays, which are timed finals.  Three relays in each age group per team are allowed.



  • Medals for 1st through 6th place finishers.
  • Ribbons for 7th through 16th place finishers.
  • Sportsmanship Award is presented to the team awarded the most votes for showing good sportsmanship throughout the season.