2021 Season Ends

The free relay at the NCISC conference championship at the Kishwaukee YMCA in Sycamore is a highlight every year for the Trails swim team. While the Geneva River Rats may have won the meet with the most points, Trails wins every year with the most heart. Dominating the pool with their shouts, chants and swinging arms, dozens of swimmers gathered at the end of the turn lane to cheer on their teammates.

Among the free relay conference champions encouraged by the noise were the 8&Under girls, including Penelope Johnson, Evey Barnes, Bella Artel, and Aimee Marzalik, the 9-10 Boys Max Gaylord, Logan Droste, Carter Tomaszewski, and Johnny Marzalik and the 13/14 Boys Gabe Niemi, Luke Johnson, Charlie Mason, and Joe Hillyer.

At the start of the meet, two medley relays received gold; Girls 8&Under with Aimee Marzalik, Boys 9-10 with Logan Droste, Carter Tomaszewski, Johnny Marzalik, and Max Gaylord; Girls 11-12, which broke the team record multiple times throughout the season, with Rachel Johnson, Sarah Hillyer, Lindsey Marzalik, and Natalie Zimmerman.

In the Boys 13-14 Medley relay, Luke Johnson led off with a record-breaking 28.03 50 Yard Backstroke. Rachel Johnson also broke two Girls 11-12 records, both of which were her records from earlier in the season. She finished with a 29.01 50 Yard Fly and 59.27 Yard 100 Free.

The first individual conference champion was Kaitlyn Tomaszewski in the 13-14 200 Yard IM with a 2:26.41.Carter Tomaszewski also took the win in the 9-10 50 Yard Breast with 42.18.

Trails finished fourth of the nine teams, trailing the Geneva River Rats, the Oswego Otters and the Cary Barracudas. Other teams participating in the conference meet included Kishwaukee YMCA/DCST, YMCA of Rock River Valley Rays, Huntley Stingrays, Woodstock Dolphins and McGuire Aquatics.

The conference championship concluded a 7-week season. The team celebrated with a team banquet on Sunday following the meet. Swimmers were recognized for their hard work and commitment to the characteristics of Teamwork, Respect, Positive Attitude, Integrity and Leadership, as well as Swimming.

Among the team award winners were:

Best Effort
8 and Under: Ellie Sylvester and Sam Gaylord
9/10: Macy Vietmeier and Max Gaylord
11/12: Mia Vietmeier and Ben Grugel
13/14: Abbey Schimel and Joe Hillyer
15 and up: Olivia Gatto and Aidan Jost

Most Improved
8 and under: Alyssa Schroeter and Beckett O'Donnell
9/10:Caroline Reid and Derek Schroeter
11/12: Audrey Wetzel and Ethan Blozinski
13/14: Carly Uehlein and Paul Reid
15 and Up: Lily Balmer and Daniel Smith

Swimmers Choice
8 and Under: Aimee
11/12: Rachel Johnson
13/14: Kaitlyn Tomaszewski
15 and up: Aidan Jost

Coaches Award
8 and Under: Kaylee Tomaszewski
9/10: Trevor Hudson
11/12: Brandon Schroeter
13/14: Gabe Niemi
15 and up: Olivia Allendorf

The Trails Swim Team is a recreational, not-for-profit organization that provides a positive atmosphere for physical and emotional development for its members within a competitive swim program.