Competitive Levels

In the United States, rhythmic gymnasts are split into competitive levels ranging from 3-10,  with Elite Status as the highest and/or Xcel Novice-Pro. Gymnasts are placed into each level based on age, interest, skill, dedication, and coach's recommendations.


This 2 day/week training program offers performance and competitive experience for athletes in grades 2nd-7th who are excited to train rhythmic gymnastics.   The girls will learn performance routines and compete floor and/or apparatus group routines while progressively mastering apparatus technical movements and body skills.  

Club competes in the Rhythmic Xcel format.





      Level 3

This is the first competitive level in the Junior Olympic program.  Athletes build their competitive confidence and develop new skills as they compete in a floor routine and 2 apparatus routines.  Building a strong foundation for higher evel gymnastics is a developmental goal for these athletes.

Ballet lessons, provided by ORG, begin in this level.



     Level 4

Athletes at this level continue to develop higher level competitive gymnastics skills and apparatus technique while competing a floor and 2 apparatus routines.   Level 4 athletes compete at in-house events and are ready to attend travel competitions.

Ballet training is required 2x per week for this level.

Level 4 competes in the Junior Olympic program.



Level 5 and 6

Athlete responsibility, sportsmanship, and self-discipline become more important as​ the girls progressively develop higher level body skills and apparatus handling.

Ballet training is required 2x per week for these levels.

The gymnasts in these levels compete a floor routine and 3 apparatus routines in the Junior Olympic format.


Level 7 and 8

Athlete responsibility, sportsmanship, and self-discipline are required as gymnasts in these levels are to be scored using a modified version of the FIG code of points.

Advanced body skills and pre-mastery apparatus handling are expected in each of the 4 individual routines.



Level 9 and 10

At this elite competitive stage, the gymnast must master difficult body skills and risk tossing maneuvers. 

Each individual competes in 4 apparatus events choreographed specifically for them.

Gymnasts earn Level 10 status based on rank at the USA National Qualifying Competition.


Beginner Group

Gymnasts in Levels 4 & 5 combine to learn 1-2 group routines, one with and one without apparatus. Each routine includes 2-5 gymnasts from the same team performing together using exchanges, collaborations, rhythmic dance steps, and required body and apparatus elements.

Intermediate Group

Gymnasts in levels 6 & 7 combine to learn 2 group routines, one floor and one apparatus. Each routine includes 2-5 gymnasts from the same team performing together using intricate exchanges, collaborations, complex rhythmic dance steps, and required body and apparatus elements.

Advanced Group

Gymnasts in Levels 8 & 9 combine to learn 2 group routines, one floor and one apparatus. In Advanced Group, the apparatus routine typically combines 2 apparatuses to add variety and difficulty.