Indianola YMCA
306 Scenic Valley Ave
Indianola, IA 50125

Head Practice Site Coach
Mason Remington
[email protected]

*Please direct all site specific inquiries to your head practice site coach.

Indianola Assistant Coaches

Aaron Bandy, YMCA
Katelyn Smith, USA & YMCA


Fall/Winter 2022-23 Season Tryout Dates:

Tryout dates:

  • Tuesday, September 27 at 6:00 PM
  • Wednesday, September 28 at 6:00 PM

If you are interested in joining the DSMY Marlins practicing in Indianola, please click here to request more information about tryouts.

Indianola Practice Site Schedule

Fall/Winter Season 2022-23 practice begins Wednesday, September 7 at all practice sites. 

Fall/Winter 2022-23 Practice Schedule
(Saturday practice updated 9/1/22)
  Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri Sat Sun
White 6:30-7:15 PM 6:30-7:15 PM 6:30-7:15 PM 6:30-7:15 PM   10:15-11:00 AM  
Purple 6:30- 7:45 PM 6:30-7:45 PM 6:30-7:45 PM 6:30-7:15 PM   11:00-12:15 PM  
Blue/Bronze 6:30- 8:00 PM 6:30-8:00 PM 6:30-8:00 PM 6:30-8:00 PM   11:00-12:30 PM  

Saturday, October 29 practice moved to Sunday, October 30, times to be announced. 
Saturday, January 14 practice moved to Sunday, January 15, times to be announced.

Due to events at the Indianola YMCA and/or holidays there will be no practice at the Indianola practice site on the following days:

Thursday, September 15
Thursday, October 6
Tuesday, October 18
Thursday, November 24 (Thanksgiving)
Tuesday, November 29
Tuesday, January 17
Thurdsay, January 19
Tuesday, January 24


Fall/Winter 2022-23 YMCA Meet Schedule

   Regular Season Meets Location Hosting Team
Sat, Oct 1, 2022 National Virtual & Intersquad Meet Wellmark YMCA Travel Team
Sat, Nov 5, 2022 Wellmark YMCA Meet Wellmark YMCA Ankeny/Wellmark
Sat, Nov 12, 2022 Waukee YMCA Meet Waukee Family YMCA Waukee
Sat, Dec 3, 2022 YMCA Travel Meet - Nishna Valley Atlantic, IA Nishna Valley
Sat, Dec 10, 2022 Waukee YMCA Meet Waukee Family YMCA Waukee
Sun, Dec 11, 2022 Walnut Creek @ Wellmark YMCA Meet Wellmark YMCA Walnut Creek
Sat, Dec 17, 2022 YMCA Travel Meet- MACR Cedar Rapids, IA  MACR
Sat, Dec 17, 2022 Indianola YMCA Meet Indianola YMCA Indianola
Sat, Jan 7, 2023 Indianola Distance YMCA Meet Indianola YMCA Indianola
Sat, Jan 14, 2023 YMCA Travel Meet - Marshalltown Marshaltown, IA Marshaltown 
Sat, Jan 21, 2023 YMCA Travel Meet - Mahaska Co YMCA Oskaloosa, IA Mahaska Co YMCA
Sat, Jan 28, 2023 Walnut Creek @ Wellmark YMCA Meet Wellmark YMCA Walnut Creek
Sat, Feb 4, 2023 YMCA Last Chance Meet Wellmark YMCA Wellmark
Sun, Feb 12, 2023 YMCA Sectionals Wellmark YMCA Waukee
  Championship Season Meets    
Sat, March 4, 2023 YMCA State Meet (Girls) Marshaltown, IA Marshaltown
Sun, March 5, 2023 YMCA State Meet (Boys) Marshaltown, IA Marshaltown
Fri, March 17, 2023 YMCA Regionals (day 1 of 3) Wellmark YMCA Iowa YMCA Swimming
Sat, March 18, 2023 YMCA Regionals (day 2 of 3) Wellmark YMCA Iowa YMCA Swimming
Sun, March 19, 2023 YMCA Regionals (day 3 of 3) Wellmark YMCA Iowa YMCA Swimming
Mon, April 3, 2023 YMCA Nationals(day 1 of 5) Greensboro, NC YMCA of USA
Tues, April 4, 2023 YMCA Nationals (day 2 of 5) Greensboro, NC YMCA of USA
Wed, April 5, 2023 YMCA Nationals (day 3 of 5) Greensboro, NC YMCA of USA
Thur, April 6, 2023 YMCA Nationals (day 4 of 5) Greensboro, NC YMCA of USA
Fri, April 7, 2023 YMCA Nationals (day 5 of 5) Greensboro, NC YMCA of USA
 

Click HERE to download a printable copy of this schedule.


Training Groups and Season Fees*

For more information about the DSMY Program model and level descriptions click here.

Team registration, regardless of the start date, is for the entirety of the season including championship meets. Installment billing is only offered as a convenience to our families. There is no discount for paying in full.

Fall/Winter 2022-23 Season Fee*
  Early Season 
September Start
Early Season
October Start
Season**
(Nov-Feb)
White $420 $350 $280
Purple $480 $400 $320
Blue/Bronze $540 $450 $360

 

Due to space and time limitations, some practice sites will fill their available roster spots. Swimmers are encouraged to register early to ensure a roster spot.

A swimmer’s training season is over after their last qualified championship meet. Training fees for championship meets after the YMCA state meet will be prorated for athletes qualified for additional competitions.

Refunds, partial credits, or discounts on registration and meet fees are not available for missed practices and/or meets due to vacations, absence due to temporary illness, voluntarily leaving the team early, lack of attendance, or involuntary separation due to misconduct

 

* Season fees do not include YMCA membership, USA Swimming membership, or meet fees. Multi-Swimmer Discounts are available at the Practice Site locations only when registering all family members at the same time: 10% discount for two swimmers, 15% discount for three swimmers and 20% discount for four or more swimmers in the family. (Discount does not apply to or with Travel Team swimmers.) Additionally, the YMCA offers financial assistance to those in need. Contact your practice site Welcome Center for information.

** This is the MINIMUM amount due to participate in the Marlin swim team program. Swimmers starting after November will still pay this amount to join the team.


 

High School Participation Fees

High school aged swimmers in grades 9-12 are eligible for a special rate schedule when they choose to participate in their high school swim team. Junior high/middle school team participants are NOT eligible.

ALL high school swim team participants must register for the season by the September start date to ensure their roster spot and maintain their eligibility for competition in USA and YMCA meets as well as DSMY Marlin team functions.

2022 High School Girls Season: August 9, 2022- November 13, 2022
2022-23 High School Boys Season: November 7, 2022- February 10, 2023

 

September

October

Season (Nov-Feb)

Post Season (x/weeks)

TT HS Girls

$15.00

$15.00

$540.00

$175.00

TTP HS Girls

$15.00

$15.00

$480.00

$155.00

PS HS Girls

$15.00

$15.00

$285.00

$90.00

TT HS Boys

$175.00

$175.00

$147.50

$175.00

TTP HS Boys

$155.00

$155.00

$137.50

$155.00

PS HS Boys

$90.00

$90.00

$115.00

$90.00

TT: Travel Team
TTP: Travel Team Prep
PS: Practice Site

 


Equipment

White: Fins and Kickboard
Purple: Fins, Kickboard, Pull Bouy
Blue: Fins, Kickboard, Pull Bouy, Center Snorkel*
Bronze: Fins, Kickboard, Pull Bouy, Center Snorkel*

*a center snorkel is a swimteam-specific snorkel that goes up the center of the face rather than the side

Team Apparel, Suit & Gear Ordering Information

Click Here

Financial Assistance

The YMCA of Greater Des Moines Indianola offers financial assistance for families making less than $50,000. Please contact the Indianola YMCA welcome desk staff for further information.